Health Information: Books

An interdisciplinary history of medicine and human disease.

A vital companion for all users of medicine, whether parents buying for babies and children, anyone wanting more information on a doctor's prescription, or those who need to find a remedy for occasional ailments. Contains up-to-date descriptions of prescription and over-the-counter drugs.

Offers an entirely up-to-date, comprehensive, accessible, one-stop resource for clinical psychologists, mental health professionals and specialists in health-related matters.

Provides a systematic and accessible introduction to medical sociology, beginning each 1500 word entry with a definition of the concept, then examines its origins, development, strengths and weaknesses, offering further reading guidance for independent learning, and drawing on international literature and examples.

Comprises concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in toxicology. Coverage includes biochemical and environmental toxicology, chemical carcinogenesis, risk assessment and risk management as well as those aspects of analytical chemistry and molecular biology that are of importance in toxicology. The most important toxic chemicals are covered, in most cases with structures and CAS numbers.

Describes the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and provides an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.

Identifies key concepts used across the discipline of public health in order to give the reader a broad perspective of the core topics relevant to training and practice.

A complete guide to the one organ in the body that makes each of us what we are - unique individuals.

Includes succinct, understandable definitions, extensive tables and illustrations, and practical clinical advice as well as many new entries on pathology, pharmacology, investigative techniques, refractive surgery, contact lenses and visual perception.

A single source for information on the human brain covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science.

Revealing and detailing all aspects of the body, from the secrets of DNA to the functions of every major body system, this all-in-one encyclopedic guide is packed with accessible health and medical information that is ideal for students, health professionals, or anyone who wants to learn more about the human body.

Provides succinct, authoritative definitions of over 6100 terms in nutrition and food technology. Also includes nutrient composition data for foods and an appendix with nutrient intake and other useful data.

Provides students and scholars with a fail-safe guide to the key concepts in the field of Sport and Exercise Science.

Presents herb and supplement profiles in a convenient, A-Z format for fast reference.

A contemporary, comprehensive glossary of terms and illustrations, along with appendices, useful for any health professional in today's medical field.

The sheets give full descriptions of each condition, its signs and symptoms, likely causes, and risk factors, preventative measures, expected outcomes, and treatment options including: diet, nutritional supplements, botanical medicines - plus cautions on drug-herb interactions - and physical therapies.

Provides comprehensive information on all aspects of health and disease ranging from how the body functions to when to consult your GP to what type of drug you have been prescribed.

Provides clear and up-to-date definitions and interpretations of concepts related to the principles and practice of homeopathy.

A comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery. Clear, concise definitions are included, covering diseases and conditions, treatments, and microorganisms. Hundreds of entries for commonly prescribed and over-the-counter medications are also featured.

A reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.

Contains entries on the theory and practice of medicine, including pharmacology, virology, psychiatry and dentistry. Also includes terminology relevant to nursing, radiography, orthoptics, laboratory and operating theatre technology, forensic and social medicine, and public health administration.

Includes terms from British and international medical practice covering fields such as surgery, general practice, hospitals, clinics, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry and other specialisms. Also includes informal terms of the kind used between professionals or professionals and patients.

Comprehensive biomedical dictionary that reflects standard and current terminology derived from medicine and related disciplines. Includes images and audio pronunciations.

Presents accurate definitions for the medical acronyms and abbreviations that are used today.

Defines health-care terms, including abbreviations, medication names, and includes biographies of medical pioneers.

A combination of relevant, thorough definitions and vibrant color illustrations and line drawings that illuminate all subject areas.

Specifically for those who provide care in emergency settings, it provides definitions of virtually every emergency response term you need to know -- plus clear explanations of techniques you use every day.

This dictionary is aimed at all those that work within the pharmaceutical industry (or aspire to do so) and contains information that covers the gamut of pharmaceutical medicine from drug discovery, development, trials, regulatory approval and marketing.

Easy to understand definitions and hundreds of images and pronunciations. Cyclopedic format means you get much more than just definitions, including abbreviations, etymologies (word origins), and most frequently prescribed drugs.

An invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options. Packed with information about diseases, treatments, and medicines. Includes appendices on vitamins and frequently used anatomical terms. Draws information from dozens of medical specialists ranging from pediatrics to pathology.

Definitions include all areas of dentistry, basic, clinical and behavioral sciences, terms related to office management, and commonly used medical terms.

This A to Z reference is a definitive resource, praised especially for its coverage of topics not previously considered under the umbrella of women's health.

Informed by current health issues and health-care realities, offers readers practical information, historical aspects, and future directions, all meticulously researched and conveniently presented.