Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Health Information Sites
Britain's BBC produces this wonderful consumer health site. Find information on men's & women's health issues, children's health, and senior health topics as well as articles on nutrition, sexual health, fertility and first aid.
Healthly People Library Project
This site provides ebooks on health topics, resources for teachers and parents, and tons of useful sites for health-related information.
Johns Hopkins Public Health News Center
Subscribe to Public Heath email updates, podcasts. Stay current on health news around the world. Read the Johns Hopkins Public Health Magazine online. This site is an excellent source for up-to-date health news.
NPR Health Blog
NPR 's Science Desk writers give you the latest on current health topics. It's a great way to stay up on what's happening in the world of health care.
Search for Health Information
All EBSCOhost Databases -- Basic Search
This tutorial gives a brief introduction to searching any of the EBSCOhost databases.
MedlinePlus: Health Information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Its mission is to present high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, free of advertising, and free of cost in both English and Spanish.
EBSCO Databases Quick Start Guide
A brief introduction to searching EBSCO databases. (Text)
Alt Health Source (EBSCO)
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Click on EBSCO Research Databases. Select Alt Health Source from list.
Consumer Health Complete
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. Includes full-text articles, fact sheets, drug information, diagrams, etc.
Click on Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete Cheatsheet
A brief introduction to searching tips and techniques. (Text)
Health Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
A rich collection of consumer health information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Click on EBSCO Research Databases; select Health Source - Consumer Edition from list.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Click on EBSCO Research Databases. Select Health Source Nursing/Academic from list.
West Virginia Library Commission
1900 Kanawha Blvd East | Culture Center, Bldg. 9 | Charleston, WV 25305
In-State Toll Free : (800) 642-9021 | (304) 558-2041