Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collection Development Titles from the WVLC Professional Collection
Library Collection Assessment Through Statistical Sampling by
Call Number: 025.21 BARD
This slim guide presents principles, strategies, and tools for assessing preservation and conservation needs of library collections. Baird is director of preservation services at Heckman Bindery in North Manchester, Indiana, and has assessed collections in more than a dozen American and European libraries. The book explains how to design a survey instrument that will help the librarian gather information about the physical condition of volumes in order to determine the most cost-effective way to preserve collections. It contains tips for estimating costs of repairing, binding, or replacing damaged materials by identifying the type of book damage, and it suggests some common treatment solutions. Recommended for collection management librarians or consultants as well as academic libraries that support a preservation or conservation curriculum. Diana Kirby Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved
Developing Public Library Collections, Policies, and Procedures by
Call Number: 025.218 CASS
"A manual designed to help those in small and medium-sized public libraries create collection development policies and therefore, to better plan their collections." From publisher.
Library Collection Development Policies: Academic, Public, and Special Libraries by
Call Number: 025.21 HOFF
"The authors, whose experience each spans four decades as library educators and practitioners, created the book (...) to assist both library school students and professionals in the field in the compilation, revision, and implementation of collection development policies. Cutting edge trends such as digital document delivery and library cooperation are also covered." Editorial Review
Fundamentals of Collection Development and Management, First ed. by
Call Number: 025.21 JOHN
"In nine chapters, she covers the entire field of collection development, from its history to collection analysis to marketing. She succinctly discusses ways to organize and staff for selection, how to write collection plans and budgets, how to manage collections, and how to set up cooperative collection plans with other libraries. The book closes with an appendix listing selection aids, a glossary, and an index of names and subjects. Invaluable to library students and beginning librarians, this book also has helpful ideas and information for even seasoned collections librarians." RBB
Copyright © American Library Association.
West Virginia Library Commission
1900 Kanawha Blvd East | Culture Center, Bldg. 9 | Charleston, WV 25305
In-State Toll Free : (800) 642-9021 | (304) 558-2041