Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A through G
Anglo-American Catalog Rules, 2nd revised ed. Was the prevailing cataloging standard for English language libraries since 1978. Succeeded by RDA.
American Library Association
Application programming interfaces
Bibliographic record program of the PCC
Bibliographic Framework is a data model for bibliographic description that uses linked data principles to make bibliographic data more useful both within and outside the library community.
Cataloging in publication
Cooperative online serials program of the PCC
DC or DCMI
Dublin core metadata initative
Dewey Decimal Classification
Encoded archival description. This metadata code is used to electronically describe finding aids.
Functional Requirements for Authority Data.
A conceptual entity-relationship model developed by the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) for relating the data that are recorded in library authority records to the needs of the users of those records and facilitate and sharing of that data
Functional Requirements for Bibliographic Records.
A conceptual entity–relationship model developed by the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) that relates user tasks of retrieval and access in online library catalogues and bibliographic databases from a user’s perspective. It represents a more holistic approach to retrieval and access as the relationships between the entities provide links to navigate through the hierarchy of relationships.
A joint effort of the CIDOC Conceptual Reference Model and Functional Requirements for Bibliographic Records international working groups to establish "a formal ontology intended to capture and represent the underlying semantics of bibliographic information and to facilitate the integration, mediation, and interchange of bibliographic and museum information."
Functional Requirements for Subject Authority Data.
Previously known as FRSAR. A continuation of the work done on the FRBR model, detailing how "entities that serve as subjects of intellectual or artistic endeavor" can be related and controlled within the bibliographic universe. The model is intended to support global sharing and reuse of subject authority data.
Functional Requirements for Subject Authority Records. See FRSAD
General material designator. Used in bibliographic records, a one or two word phrase used to describe the overal format of the item being described.
Guidelines on Subject Access to Individual Works of Fiction, Drama, Etc.
H Through P
IFLA - Library Reference Model
IFLA LRM is a high-level conceptual reference model developed within an entity-relationship modelling framework. It is the consolidation of the separately developed IFLA conceptual models: FRBR, FRAD, FRSAD. IFLA LRM was developed to resolve inconsistencies between the three separate models. Every user task, entity, attribute and relationship from the original three models was examined, definitions had to be revised, but also some remodeling was required in order to develop a meaningful consolidation. The result is a single, streamlined, and logically consistent model that covers all aspects of bibliographic data and that at the same time brings the modelling up-to-date with current conceptual modelling practices. IFLA LRM was designed to be used in linked data environments and to support and promote the use of bibliographic data in linked data environments.
Integrated library system. Also referred as an automated system
International standard book number
International standard serial number. This is the magazine version of the ISBN.
Library of Congress authority file
Library of Congress classification
Library of Congress control number Before automated systems LCCN was short for Library of Congress card number.
Library of Congress Genre/Form Terms
Library of Congress-Program for Cooperative Cataloging Policy Statements.
Available under the Resources tab of the RDA Toolkit.
Machine readable cataloging
Metadata encoding and transmission standard
Moving Image Genre-Form Guide
Name authority cooperative program of the PCC
NISO Circulation interchange protocol
Open archives initiative-protocol for metada harvesting
A non-profit organization that markets products to libraries, museums, and other repositories.
Online Audiovisual Catalogers. "Founded in 1980, OLAC is an organization for catalogers concerned with all types of nonprint materials, including a wide range of digital resources as well as more “traditional” formats: video and sound recordings, websites, maps, multimedia, graphic materials, and realia. Through conferences, workshops, publications, and the electronic discussion list, catalogers exchange information and enjoy expert and practical advice on cataloging audiovisual resources. OLAC became an ALA affiliate in 2008."
Online public access computer. This term goes back to the day when a library's collection was accessible through a single, non-internet capable computer. OPAC is used now to represent the online library catalog.
Q Through Z
Program for Cooperative Cataloging
Resource description and access. A standard for descriptive cataloging initially released in June 2010, providing instructions and guidelines on formulating bibliographic data. RDA is the successor to AACR2.
Subject authority cooperative program of the PCC
Specific material designator. Used in the physical description area of the bibliographic record, this one or two word phrase describes the format of the item being described.
Universal decimal classification. UDC is an expanded version of the Dewey decimal classification system.
Extensible markup language. Similar to HTML that is used to create webpages.
West Virginia Library Commission
1900 Kanawha Blvd East | Culture Center, Bldg. 9 | Charleston, WV 25305
In-State Toll Free : (800) 642-9021 | (304) 558-2041