Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
52 Ready-To-Use Gaming Programs for Libraries by
Call Number: 025.5 FIFT
Publication Date: 2020-03-23
Gaming programs offer many benefits: they encourage interaction among patrons, strengthen community bonds with the library, and when done right they can be incredibly popular. Kroski, a bestselling author as well as an avid gamer herself, has gathered more than 50 creative programming ideas from public, school, and academic libraries nationwide. Most will hit your core gaming audience of teens, but you’ll also find plenty of options for adults, tweens, and younger children—the mix of tabletop, video, and live-action gaming programs includes something for everyone. Complete with step-by-step instructions for how to prepare and host programs, a materials and equipment list, estimated budget, and recommendations for age ranges, inside this book you’ll find fun ideas such as
-- Instagram or zombie-tag scavenger games;
-- a video game rec league;
-- teaching cybersecurity with Minecraft;
-- STEM with virtual reality and other programs for VR equipment;
-- fostering science literacy with themed board games;
-- a life-sized Game of Life;
-- STEAM with an amazing race;
-- hosting a Gaming Con at your library;
-- video game study breaks for calming students’ nerves during Finals Week;
-- leading enthusiasts in writing an original roleplay or designing a board game; and
-- building your collection of games through donations and grants.
The engaging programs in this book will have people flocking to your library—it’s all in the game.
60 Ready-To-Use Coding Projects by
Call Number: 025.5 SIXT
Publication Date: 2019-11-19
The lessons of ALA’s Libraries Ready to Code initiative are conclusive: your library can make a difference in developing computational thinking in children, teens, and even adults. And you don’t even need to be a techie to make it happen; in fact, many activities in this new book from tech champion Kroski dispense with a screen altogether in favor of twister boards, masking tape grids, or bowling pins. Other activities are built around affordable software or tech toys like Scratch Jr., Scratch, Bee-Bot, or Code-a-Pillar. Organized by age group, and complete with step-by-step guidance on everything from learning outcomes to an estimated budget, projects include
-- teaching coding to preschoolers with beads, pipe cleaners, and elastic string;
-- choreographing music videos with Ozobots;
-- programming Mad Libs-style games using Python;
-- teaching algorithms with story mapping, pattern play, or mazes;
-- using Scratch for digital dress-up or meme remixes;
-- team-building and outreach with robots;
-- drop-in programs for exploration and unstructured play; and
-- teaching adults with Lynda.com or Meetup partners.
This book’s structured presentation will help both school librarians and programming staff at public libraries quickly scan for projects that fit their needs.
Your Technology Outreach Adventure: Tools for Human-Centered Problem Solving by
Call Number: 027.42 BERM
Publication Date: 2019
From straightforward internet access to elaborate makerspaces, libraries have taken center stage when it comes to providing free access to technology to those who visit their physical spaces. But how about people who don’t walk into a library? How do we ensure those members of the community are also being reached by technology programming? It’s time to launch an adventure! Berman, named an ALA Emerging Leader and Library Journal Mover & Shaker, provides readers with a comprehensive plan for creating and implementing successful technology-based outreach. She also teaches readers design thinking skills that can enable library staff to become creative problem solvers. Sharing the methods and experiences of her team at San José Public Library, Berman’s guide
-- presents numerous real-world case studies, including videomaking in a skate park, e-readers for seniors, popup mobile makerspaces, and simple circuits in middle school, that will inspire readers to move technology beyond the walls of the library;
-- offers dozens of design thinking exercises, such as rapid prototyping, empathy mapping, and logic models, as part of a start-to-finish model for developing a new program concept;
-- discusses the origins of and reasons behind the digital divide, then shares outreach fundamentals and best practices that will help ensure success; and
-- provides information about ways to connect with the community, perform evaluation, offer STEM programming, and additional resources.
This guide will empower libraries to design and prototype technology-based outreach ideas safely, quickly, and with confidence, leading to better service for all members of the community.
Gather 'Round the Table: Food literacy programs, resources, and ideas for libraries by
Call Number: 025.52 DODG
Publication Date: 2020-01-15
Food is more than just a basic human need—learning about it and enjoying it can be important social activities. With ties to information needs, social justice, and the maker movement, food literacy initiatives are a natural fit for libraries. And, as this book demonstrates, efforts can extend far beyond a hearty collection of cookbooks in the stacks. Food programming such as cooking can be an important tool in helping English language learners discover a practical use for a new language, as well as providing opportunities for socialization and conversation. It can be used to help GED seekers practice basic math. And, playing with food can be a sensory-integrative way to help new parents and their babies learn about healthy food choices. Featuring a multi-pronged approach to incorporating food literacy in public, school, and special libraries, this all-in-one resource
-- presents a definition of food literacy that shows how the concept touches upon important topics such as culinary skills, food security, nutrition and dieting, food allergies, health literacy, and food ethics;
-- discusses the community impacts of food-related issues;
-- walks readers through planning and undertaking a community food assessment, a process that can be used to identify a need, justify a service response, build buy-in and engagement, and plan for the allocation of resources;
-- shares a variety of innovative food literacy programs drawn from libraries across the country, from cookbook and recipe clubs to an edible education garden, teen cooking classes, and offsite cooking demos; and
-- provides information about additional resources and reference sources relating to the culinary world, including advice on collection development.
Serving up a wholesome combination of food literacy information and ideas, this book will encourage members of your community to gather ‘round the table at the library.
Move, Play, Learn: Interactive Storytimes with Music, Movement, and More by
Call Number: 027.62 JEWE
Publication Date: 2019-05-13
Get ready to break out of your storytime routine by encouraging children’s natural instincts to move, sing, and play! Unlike traditional storytimes, where children are expected to sit quietly and just watch, music and movement storytimes encourage children to learn by getting inside stories while interacting with others. Research shows that this kind of play stimulates the senses, provides connections to all four lobes of the brain, touches on a variety of intelligences, and heightens social and emotional awareness—all while extending the early literacy practices of Every Child Ready to Read® and preparing children for school. And because there are no crafts to cut out, no snacks to pack, no scripts to memorize, and no story kits to make, it’s one of the simplest, most cost-effective storytime models to implement. Jewell’s complete guide shows the way, offering
-- 20 ready-to-use storytime plans tailored to specific age groups, including babies, toddlers, preschool and all-ages programs, a real time-saver for storytime organizers and presenters;
-- advice and best practices gleaned from interviews with professionals who specialize in storytimes, music making with children and families, yoga storytime, and drama education; and
-- lists of recommended resources, from interactive print books to children’s music and videos available digitally, with tips on choosing the best materials.
Children’s librarians and educators will be delighted to learn that anyone can lead a movement and music storytime, regardless of their level of experience with music or movement, with this book in hand.
25 Projects for Eco Explorers by
Call Number: 027.8222 KIRK
Publication Date: 2020-06-01
Though the daily news is filled with reports of climate change, severe weather, environmental distress, and endangered species, children's librarians and educators might be uncertain how to incorporate these topics into their current curriculum. This handy resource offers an ideal solution, presenting more than two dozen ready-to-use projects on environmental topics that can be integrated into K-5 educational lesson plans and library programming for children aged 4-10. Starting with a representative picture book as a foundation, children are guided through each topic using a hands-on project that reinforces learning. Whether they’re in the classroom or library, kids will feel excited and engaged as they explore such topics as
-- honeybees, loggerhead turtles, mountain gorillas, polar bears, and other animals;
-- environments like coral reefs, estuaries, and the Galápagos Islands;
-- wildfires, hurricanes, and tornadoes;
-- composting, gardens, seeds, and the farm to table movement; and
-- garbage, recycling, renewable energy, water conservation, and Earth Day.
Complete with detailed information about each topic, including sections that explore interesting related facts, this book will activate children’s curiosity and appreciation for the world we live in.
53 Ready-To-Use Kawaii Craft Projects by
Call Number: 025.5 FIFT
Publication Date: 2019-12-09
Tiny, adorable, even cuddly: Kawaii, born in Japan, is the culture of cuteness, and its influence is seen worldwide in clothing, accessories, games, and food. Kawaii projects at your library will get a new crowd using your 3D printer and introduce anime and manga enthusiasts to crafting. In her new book Kroski, bestselling enthusiast of makerspaces, cosplay, and geek culture in libraries, has gathered creative and crafty librarians to share their most popular Kawaii programs. Running the gamut in terms of cost and difficulty, this book’s 53 programs are sure to include many that will fit your budget, space, and skills. Just scan the estimated budget, age range, materials, equipment needs, and learning outcomes in each listing. Projects include
-- keychains with felt or 3D printing;
-- slime squishies;
-- 3D printed animal earrings;
-- hosting a stuffed animal fashion show;
-- monster emoji paper bookmarks;
-- origami fortune cookies;
-- buttons with anime or comic book art;
-- crocheted coffee cozy or puppy nose warmer;
-- tiny top hats with laser-cut felt cameos;
-- how to Kawaii-ify a planner.
What’s more, the plentiful suggestions for “next projects” scattered throughout the book will help you keep the super-cute fun going!
50+ Programs for Tweens, Teens, Adults, and Families: 12 Months of Ideas by
Call Number: 025.5 ALES
Publication Date: 2019-10-28
Public library programmers, marketers, and staff across the country have relied on their previous books for fun and engaging offerings that draw patrons in and keep them excited about visiting the library again and again. Now this team of best-selling authors is back with an all-new calendar of ready-to-go programs guaranteed to provide fun all year round. They also offer a series of themed programs specially designed for clubs, with pointers on hosting meetings of clubs and activities that compliment these gatherings. Best of all, their ideas are easily adaptable for a variety of participants, including tweens, teens, millennials, older adults, and families. Complete with planning lists, budgeting guidance, and marketing advice, this book includes
-- delightful programs such as Rememberlutions, Prom Formalwear Giveaway, Cooking with a Waffle Iron, Life Hacks for Living On Your Own, Preschool for Adults, Upcycled Friendsgiving, and many others;
-- club ideas like Parenting Teens, STEAM Club, 5K Club, Crafterwork, and Service Club;
-- suggestions of variations for different age groups; and
-- tips on building interest in the topic prior to the event using trivia and other free games.
Packed with an assortment of flexible ideas for youth, adults, and family engagement, this book’s programs will help cultivate enthusiasm for public libraries every month of the year.
Libraries and Gardens: Growing Together by
Call Number: 025 BANK
Publication Date: 2019-05-01
Roman philosopher Cicero once remarked that “if you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need.” Today, libraries nationwide are beginning to incorporate gardens into their public services. Libraries in the southwestern US, for instance, are creating drought-tolerant gardens as neighborhood demonstration projects, while elsewhere gardens are being used to promote community engagement and even STEM learning. Citing examples of library gardens around the world that are thriving, this first-ever book on the subject not only demonstrates the many benefits of library gardens but also provides a complete overview of issues applicable to all library types and geographical environments. Featuring a full-color photo insert showcasing several beautiful library gardens, among the topics covered in the book are
-- a brief history of libraries and gardens, with an overview of such “demonstration gardens” as medicinal and herbal gardens, native plant gardens, xeriscapes, and gardens as wildlife sanctuaries;
-- the use of plants, such as living walls and rooftop gardens, to create ecologically healthy, sustainable environments;
-- gardens as learning environments and spaces for storytimes and active play;
-- food gardens, seed libraries, sensory gardens, outdoor reading areas, prison garden programs, and many other ways that libraries can engage communities;
-- guidance on designing for inclusivity, planning, funding, staffing, recruiting volunteers, and planting and maintenance, complete with advice on determining the best plants to cultivate; and
-- ideas on evaluating the effectiveness of library gardens and the program opportunities they offer.
Readers will not only be inspired to create and nurture their own library gardens and programs, they will receive practical advice on how to proceed and sustain them.
Pairing STEAM with Stories: 46 hands-on activities for children by
Call Number: 027.62 MCCH
Publication Date: 2020-05-29
Laying the groundwork for building children's curiosity, openness to learning, ability to persist in the face of failure, and interest in connecting learning from one subject to the other are important objectives for today’s libraries. Partnering with cultural institutions, such as the Chicago Public Library (CPL) does with Chicago’s Museum of Science and Industry (MSI), libraries can forge powerful connections between literacy and science. This resource shares the fruits of that partnership, offering ready-to-go, library-tested activities that meld cutting-edge STEAM education principles with some of the best books available for youth today. It’s a model that can be used in a variety of library or museum settings and can also be adapted for outreach. Inside, readers will find
-- 46 book-based, customizable STEAM activities, each complete with program length, materials list, and step-by-step instructions;
-- real-life tips, advice, and thoughts from practicing CPL librarians sprinkled throughout the book;
-- pointers on incorporating STEAM into existing programs;
-- pedagogical strategies behind effective STEAM experiences, ensuring successful implementation of these skills; and
-- helpful supporting materials such as a program planning rubric and a vendor list.
The activities in this book will make STEAM learning fun while planting the seeds for lifelong learning.
Create, Innovate, and Serve: a Radical Approach to Children's & Youth Programming by
Call Number: 027.625 CREA
Publication Date: 2019
Foreword by Susan Hildreth
Library services are transforming to emphasize interactive, innovative, participatory, and often production-centered programming. It’s a truly radical approach, and tomorrow’s LIS graduates in children’s and youth services need a resource that helps them understand this programming as it pertains to these age ranges. This text meets that need, bringing together a wide range of perspectives from both practice and research to survey this new landscape of programming for children and youth. Providing in-depth information crucial to those who will soon encounter these programs in library settings, this contributed volume
-- delves into a wide variety of different programs, discussing their crucial elements and how to develop, plan, and deliver them;
-- uses case studies of innovative practices to address such key issues as diversity, equity, media mentorship, community partnerships, dedicated library spaces, discussion-based programming, and assessment;
-- presents annotated bibliographies of research, organized by young children (birth to 5), middle childhood (ages 6 to 12), and teens (ages 13 and up); and
-- examines children and youth programming trends, teaching how to recognize and incorporate these trends into all types of programs.
Emphasizing an inclusive approach to programming that incorporates research-based theories and frameworks, this text will be a valuable orientation tool for LIS students as well as a holistic guide for current children and youth services professionals.
Rainy Day Ready: Financial Literacy Programs and Tools by
Call Number: 025.11 RAIN
Publication Date: 2019-12-06
A survey from the American Psychological Association shows that money is a more frequent cause of worry than work, family, or health issues. Empowering people with the knowledge to make sound financial decisions is an important way to make a difference in your community, and many libraries across the country are doing just that. Drawing from the expertise of business librarians and ALA’s Public Programs Office (PPO), this book is a ready-to-use guide for offering financial literacy initiatives at your own library. Presenting 16 model programs from a variety of institutions, complete with budgets and funding sources, this resource shares
-- resources for free outreach materials and training;
-- approaches to Money Smart Week from institutions such as public libraries, a tribal library, and community colleges;
-- tips for developing partnerships with members of the local business community;
-- ways to facilitate discussions between parents and children about finances, such as creating a play and learn career center for children using the Family Place model;
-- programming for teens, including a Harry Potter-themed financial literacy series;
-- a program where a banker advises college students on questions to ask when shopping for credit cards;
-- how to collaborate with health and social services agencies in order to reach immigrants and underserved populations; and
-- methods for evaluating and strengthening a personal finance collection.
By incorporating these model programs and tools into your library's offerings, you’ll be taking steps to ensure that your patrons are rainy day ready.
Transforming Young Adult Services. 2nd Edition by
Call Number: 027.626 TRAN
Publication Date: 2019-02-25
How should LIS envision its young adult users? Now showcasing an even more rigorous debate about the theory and practice of YA librarianship than its first edition, this "provocative presentation of diverse viewpoints by leaders in the field" (Catholic Library World) has been updated and expanded to incorporate recent advances in critical youth studies. A comprehensive, evidence-based treatment that offers LIS instructors, students, and practitioners a valuable tool for aligning YA services to more fully reflect our diverse populations of young people, this collection delves deeply into such topics as
-- the historical roots for current theories and practice;
-- how intellectual freedom, storytelling, library collections, and other service topics can connect with the library's notion and vision of young adults;
-- diverse YA identities, including critical race theory;
-- competing perspectives on young adults’ rights in libraries;
-- envisaging YA librarianship from a teen-centered perspective;
-- youth identities and the school library; and
-- moving beyond coaching to copilot with young adults.
The broad range of topics and arguments in this volume invites and challenges readers to see critical theory as a means to effect true transformations in young adult services.
Examination copies are available for instructors who are interested in adopting this title for course use.
Seamless Youth Services for Every Age and Stage by
Call Number: 027.625 LOOP
Publication Date: 2019
The tweens aren’t the only “in-between” years in a child’s life—the storytime-to-school age and teen-to-adult transitions are just as momentous, and as tricky to address when it comes to programming. That’s certainly one factor behind the phenomenon of declining attendance and library use as the age of the youth patrons increases. Transitional programming is the answer. This book shows that by offering transitional programming, which helps children move to the next stage in their library experience, libraries can bolster program attendance, circulation rates, and general library use as children grow. Guiding libraries to assist children as they move from one youth service stage to the next, this book
-- outlines both major and minor transitional periods in a child’s life, ranging from birth to adulthood, helping libraries identify areas in which the services they offer need improvement;
-- focuses on how libraries can nurture the three main skills required for children as they grow: how to self-select books, how to participate in programs, and how to use the library’s resources;
-- demonstrates ways transitional programming can be incorporated into a library’s initiatives despite budgetary or scheduling limitations;
-- shares easily adaptable ideas for programming, attendance and participation, library spaces, teaching children how to navigate library resources, and displays and signage; and
-- encourages readers to reflect on their personal library experiences from childhood, identifying memorable programs and impactful experiences for inspiration.
Youth services is a continuum, not a series of distinct stages; this book will help libraries meet the needs of every child, no matter their age.
West Virginia Library Commission
1900 Kanawha Blvd East | Culture Center, Bldg. 9 | Charleston, WV 25305
In-State Toll Free : (800) 642-9021 | (304) 558-2041