Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
From the Collection
Activities, adaptation & aging
Call Number: Available Online--Statewide Database--MasterFile
Users accessing this title from home, office, etc., will need to contact their local W. Va. public library for the Statewide Database login id and password. Abstracts Available: Sep 2002-
Search the Online Library Catalog
Caring for your parents [DVD]
Call Number: DVD 306.874 CARING
This documentary focuses attention on the United States’ aging population and the many adult children who are undertaking the primary care for their aging parents, underscoring today’s struggle to keep parents at home, tensions between siblings and social, cultural and economic issues. Immediately followed by a 30-minute panel discussion with medical correspondent Dr. Art Ulene which offers constructive advice and guidance on how to start the caregiving conversation.
Caring for yourself while caring for your aging parents: how to help, how to survive by
Call Number: 362.6 BERMAN
Summary from "Library Journal": Caregiving for an aging individual evokes an emotional roller coaster of feelings and needs in the caregiver, all of which call for recognition and resolution. Through an expert weave of personal stories, her own experience, and expert advice from others, the author speaks directly to the emotional, practical, and financial aspects of caregiving.
Consumer guide to elder care choices
Call Number: R 362 THESTREET
This guide is designed to educate you on the many care options available and to provide you with the necessary tools to make informed decisions on Continuing Care Retirement Communities, Assisted Living Facilities, Home Health Care Agencies, Adult Day Care, Nursing Homes, and more.
Consumer Guide to Long-Term Care Insurance
Call Number: R 368.382 THESTREET
This guide gives you how-to information on how to select the right long-term care policy for you, with worksheets, definitions and sample policy information.
Call Number: Available Online--CQ Researcher
Provides 12,000 word essays that cover all sides of current concerns in the news. Includes reporting and analysis of social and political issues.
Guía para el cuidado de nuestros mayores : cómo planificar el futuro de sus padres by
Call Number: 362.61 HENRY
This item is part of the Hispanic collection.
How to protect elders from harm by
Call Number: 346.7303 OREILLY
Table of contents: Understanding the risks to the safety of elders -- Will anyone help my parents? -- How does government protect elders against risk? -- Remedies for injury at home -- Traffic-related risks of harm -- Hospital-related harms -- Nursing-home risks of harm -- Remedies for home and assisted-living health-care risks -- Medication issues for elders -- Protecting elders from financial harms and thefts -- Abuse and assault -- When to choose which tactic to respond to the harm -- When should we settle? -- Managing the interaction with government officials.
Online Elder Care Resources
American Aging Society
The largest organization of multidisciplinary professionals in the field of aging. Resources, publications, and educational opportunities are geared to enhance the knowledge and skills of people working with older adults and their families.
Assisted Living Directory
This website facilities and other senior care options, organized by state, and then by city. The information in the site is determined to be accurate at the time of publication and the site does not endorse any particular facility. It is a good starting point in a search for an assisted living facility.
W. Va. Bureau of Senior Care's most frequently asked questions and information.
Long term care: Early planning pays off
Written by Mayo Clinic Staff, this article overviews long term care decisions to make early on.
Compare the health and drug plans from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Resources main site for Medicare.
National Family Caregivers Association
This site is devoted to caregivers. It provides links to support, information, and services.
W. Va. Senior Legal Aid
West Virginia Senior Legal Aid provides free civil legal services and counsel to senior West Virginians age 60 and older, with a focus on economically or socially disadvantaged, disabled, and rural seniors.
West Virginia Bureau of Senior Services
The information is tailored to those who are seeking to locate programs and services for themselves or their loved ones and also for professionals who may be looking for up-to-date information relating to the field of aging.
West Virginia Library Commission
1900 Kanawha Blvd East | Culture Center, Bldg. 9 | Charleston, WV 25305
In-State Toll Free : (800) 642-9021 | (304) 558-2041