Skip to main content

COVID-19 Support for Libraries and Librarians: Education Resources

Tools to help West Virginia libraries and librarians in response to COVID-19.

Free Education Resources

Education resource offers to help families, educators, and school librarians support learning while students are at home.


WVLC Guides: Educational Resources for Families During COVID-19

Resources compiled for educational materials and opportunities including a list of virtual storytimes held by state libraries.


ABDO Books

Educational Publisher ABDO Books is making their entire digital collection of PreK–12 educational titles and Zoom Database free until June. Please contact Michele Gillman at mgillman@abdobooks.com or 952-698-2404, if you have any questions.


Audible Stories

Audible Stories will provide free audiobooks for children and teens for as long as schools are closed. Includes a collection of stories across six different languages. Sign up and start listening here.


Bring it Home for the Win Parent Webinar (Tutor.com)

Webinar designed for parents of students in grades K-12 faced with teaching their children at home during the COVID-19 emergency. Provided by Tutor.com.

 


Comcast Internet Essentials Free At-Home Learning

Comcast Internet Essentials customers have free access to several resources for remote learning and home schooling as a result of the pandemic. These include: Wide Open School, DOGOnews, DOGObooks, PBS Learning Center, Met Kids, Science Friday, CoolMath4Kids, Project Gutenberg, and Duck Duck Moose.


Common Sense Media: Resources for Educators During the Coronavirus Pandemic

Free tips and tools to support school closures and transitions to online and at-home learning.


Common Sense Media: Resources for Families During the Coronavirus Pandemic

Timely activities for helping families and students understand COVID-19 news coverage, de-stress during challenging times, and develop a watch, read, play list that supports learning.


Distance Education and Engagement LibGuide (ACRL Pandemic Resources for Academic Libraries)

This guide from the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL) lists numerous support resources for those newly teaching online.


EBSCO (via WVInfoDepot.org)

EBSCO has offered the WVLC access to the following databases through June 2020. These databases can be accessed via WVInfoDepot.org using the same login and password as our regular Info Depot databases.

  • EBSCO eBooks Public Library Subscription Collection
    Includes full-text eBooks covering a wide range of topics such as self-help, fitness, games, hobbies and cooking. This general reference e-book collection features titles for both adults and juveniles, as well as best-selling and recommended titles from leading publishers.
  • EBSCO eBooks High School Subscription Collection
    This collection of full-text eBooks includes a selection of classic literary works, important historical documents, and general reference materials.
  • EBSCO eBook K-8 Subscription Collection
    Includes full-text eBooks across all subject areas taught in elementary and middle school to support K-8 curricula.
  • EBSCO eBooks Cricket Media Subscription Collection
    Award-winning, short-form fiction and nonfiction titles by Cricket Media to build literacy skills is students from pre-K to 8th grade.

EBSCO Information and Free Resources for Schools and Public Libraries Impacted by COVID-19

A collection of links to free resources from EBSCO including:

  • Distance Learning Resources: Rosetta Stone resources for teachers and English language learners, study packets on numerous topics, Cricket Media magazines with teacher guides, EBSCO eBooks Classics, Explora scavenger hunts, lesson plans, Google integration help guides, and abstracting and indexing databases to support educator research and professional development.
  • College Admissions Test Prep Resources from EBSCO LearningExpress including ACT, AP, SAT, and GRE exam prep resources. (NOTE: Please also see WVInfoDepot.org for full access to LearningExpress Library and all its test prep resources.)
  • Ideas to Encourage Reading, Creativity and Mindfulness at Home

Eva: A-7063 (WFYI, Indianapolis's PBS station)

The educational version of the nationally acclaimed documentary “Eva: A-7063” — about Holocaust survivor turned forgiveness advocate Eva Kor — and the accompanying Educator’s Guide are available for free at www.thestoryofeva.com throughout April. These materials teach forgiveness, resilience, moral courage and more, and are excellent tools for libraries to use and share.

In addition to the homepage above, more associated resources are linked below:

Eva E-Learning overview
https://indd.adobe.com/view/ad43069e-403f-46cd-b492-252b26317029

"Eva: A-7063" acclaim and awards
https://www.thestoryofeva.com/media-kit/reviews/

Teacher reviews of the Eva Educator's Guide
https://indd.adobe.com/view/f6bb355d-2ef4-4468-aedc-9addc82715f1


"Goodnight with Dolly" Imagination Library Bedtime Stories with Dolly Parton

"Goodnight with Dolly" is a 10-week special series of weekly videos featuring Dolly Parton reading select Imagination Library books beginning April 2 at 7:00 p.m. EST.


Internet Archive National Emergency Library

As of March 24, 2020, the Internet Archive will suspend waitlists for the 1.4 million (and growing) books in its lending library by creating a National Emergency Library to serve the nation’s displaced learners. This suspension will run through June 30, 2020, or the end of the US national emergency, whichever is later. See this IA blog post for more information.


Lifliqe Online Science Learning App

Lifliqe is providing free access to its “lifelike” content such as 3D, AR and VR for online science learning to all students and teachers.

 


Open-Up Resources: Resources to Support Teaching & Learning During COVID-19 School Closures

Includes curriculum-specific resources in Language Arts, Reading and Writing, and Math as well as subject-specific community webinars and a form link for educators in need of support who anticipate their school(s) will be closed for more than two weeks. Listings will evolve as more resources are created.


Penguin Random House Open License Online Story Time and Classroom Read-Aloud Videos and Live Events

In order to encourage reading and classroom read-aloud experiences, and to support schools and public libraries forced to close by the escalating COVID-19 outbreak, Penguin Random House is permitting teachers, librarians and booksellers to create and share story time and read-aloud videos and live events, according to certain guidelines. Go here for more information.


ReadWorks

Free content, curriculum, and comprehension tools for grades K-12. Resources for educators, parents/families, and students that can be printed or delivered online. Remote learning resources for educators and families in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.


Scholastic Learn at Home

Username:   Learning20, Password:  Clifford (case sensitive)

This free resource provides all students with 20 days' worth of learning journeys that span the content areas so you can keep your students academically active while your buildigs are closed.

Scholastic Learn at Home supports students with approximately three hours of learning opportunities per day, including projects, articles and stories, virtual field trips, reading and geography challenges, and more.

(The site will be updated weekly until all 20 days of content is available.   The journeys are designed to limit the need for printing and allow students to learn independently or with their families.)


Share-Outs and Celebrations of All Things Adolescent Literacy with Dr. Andrea Lemon

Beginning the week of April 6th, Dr. Andrea Lemon will be hosting weekly 20 to 30 minute share-outs and celebrations of all things  adolescent literacy. Live, interactive, weekly share-outs will feature free digital and non-digital learning resources, professional discussions, and celebrations of the great work you and your fellow WV educators do every day. Using the Microsoft Teams platform, each share-out can host approximately 200 educators, so more than one day/time may be needed each week. Each Monday, an announcement of dates, times, and topics will be posted to the ELA and Library Media Listserv.

Please see the Events Listing on the Professional Development and Support tab of this LibGuide for upcoming dates and more information.


TeachingBooks Book & Reading Engagement Kit: Home Edition

TeachingBooks is providing unlimited access to their brand new Book & Reading Engagement Kit: Home Edition through September 15, 2020. Children, teens, educators, and adults can can access thousands of resources about children's and young adult books. This includes read-along performances of favorite books transaltable into 100+ languages, virtual storytime with more than 1,000 complete book readings, reader's advisory, author interviews, and discussion questions.


TIME for Kids

The TIME for Kids digital library will be free for the rest of the school year. Sign-up is required for access to free digital editions of one of four grade-specific editions of TIME for Kids and Your $: https://time.com/tfk-free/


TumbleBooks

TumbleBooks, a provider of online children's book databases, is making its online libraries available for free to all schools and libraries until at least August 31. Its Flagship product, TumbleBook Library, is a collection of animated talking picture books, read-alongs, ebooks, quizzes, lesson plans, and educational games. E-mail info@tumblebooks.com with subject line Free TumbleBooks in order to receive free links to all three TumbleBooks databases so they can be shared and accessed by your patrons in their homes.


World Book Online

World Book is providing educators with access to additional Pre-K to grade 12 learning resources through April 30, 2020. To gain access to these additional complimentary resources, click here.

World Book has also created a guide to support educators, parents, grandparents, caregivers, or anyone using their resources remotely.

To further support virtual learning, World Book will also be launching Wizard, an adaptive learning resource for math, science, social studies, and language arts. It is intended to ensure that kids retain content taught earlier this school year and to provide teachers and parents the opportunity to assign new learning topics and to monitor students' progress on each topic. Access to Wizard will automatically be granted to those who have registered for World Book's complimentary resources using the link above.


WV Department of Education Coronavirus 19 Information - Resources

Gathers resources and student engagement ideas from recent WV education listserv emails and additional information and support for WV educators. Includes technology-free and screen-free resources.


West Virginia Educator Hub

The West Virginia Department of Education is seeking activities, ideas, lessons, or solutions from West Virginia educators that meet the needs of the current remote learning situation. If you have an idea to share, please visit the West Virginia Educator Hub using the link above, and then complete the form to submit your activity, idea, lesson, or solution to the West Virginia Department of Education. Submissions will be reviewed each week and featured on the West Virginia Educator Hub throughout the coming months. Please share your successes in this time of remote learning with your fellow educators.


West Virginia Specific Content for Re-Teaching, Review, and/or Enrichment
(
Education Station, WV Public Broadcasting)

The West Virginia Department of Education is partnering with West Virginia Public Broadcasting to provide content for two 30-minute segments per week that will cover all developmental levels.

Beginning March 31, West Virginia Public Broadcasting’s statewide television network will air "Education Station" Tuesdays and Thursdays from 9 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.

Check out the links below to see the content for the first segment and the promotional video:

About this Guide

This guide is a work-in-progress and will be updated as we are able.

Listings are not endorsements and may not be comprehensive. If you learn of something that you'd like us to include, please share it with the librarian below.

Digital Resources Librarian

West Virginia Library Commission
1900 Kanawha Blvd East | Culture Center, Bldg. 9 | Charleston, WV 25305
In-State Toll Free : (800) 642-9021 | (304) 558-2041
WV.gov