LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Find K-12 OER

Multiple Source OER Search Boxes

These "metasearch" boxes return results from multiple OER repositories with a single search:

OASIS, an integrated search tool developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library, searches open content from 97 different sources at the time of this writing. For more resources that may not be included, see other search tools and repositories linked in the box to the right.

MOM, a service of Mason Publishing and University Libraries at George Mason University, is a real-time, simultaneous search across 21 OER sources at the time of this writing. For more resources that may not be included, see other search tools and repositories linked in the box to the right.

On Reliability and Evaluating OER for Use

Repositories listed here are considered reputable sources by the OER community at large. Users have the opportunity to review and recommend the individual resources within each. Please use the same due diligence evaluating these as you would any other course materials. For help evaluating OER, see the "Evaluate OER" tab.

Also take note of rights given for each item. Some organizations define "open" differently, and some portals may house restricted resources alongside truly open ones. For more on this topic, see the "Copyright, Creative Commons, Fair Use, and OER Usage Rights" section under the "Resources" tab.

K-12-specific OER

Find OER designed for K-12 use at the listings and portals linked below:

cK-12
Free and customizable K-12 OER provided by the CK-12 Foundation, a California-based non-profit organization.
Curriki
Non-profit K-12 OER repository and tech platform. Lesson collections are often sponsored by large corporations (i.e. AT&T, Chevron, Huawei, Oracle). Includes some professional development resources.
Maryland: Maryland's OER Project: PreK-12
Maryland state OER Commons hub featuring MSDE-Vetted Collections.
MIT OpenCoureWare Highlights for High School
Features MIT OpenCourseWare materials that are most useful for high school students and teachers.
New York: EngageNY
Creative Commons-licensed curricula in English Language Arts and Mathematics.
Open-Up Resources
Contains middle school and high school math curricula and K-5 English language arts curricula. Many materials are licensed with a CC BY 4.0 license but not all, so pay special attention to licensing and how it applies to your intended use.
Utah: Utah Education Network Open Educational Resources
Open materials to support the Utah Core Standards, instruction, and teaching.
Washington: Washington OER Project
Washington state OER Commons hub. Contains courses and units developed by state grantees or collaborators and aligned to Washington K-12 Learning Standards.

All Levels OER (incl. K-12)

Find OER for all ages and levels of education in these national and international portals.

MERLOT
A program of the California State University System partnering with education institutions, professional societies, and industry. All materials are reviewed for suitability and many undergo more extensive peer review.
OER Commons
Digital public library and collaboration platform of ISKME (Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education). Platform contains records for work from numerous providers including several universities and the DPLA among many others.
Open Textbook Library
Supported by the Center for Open Education at the University of Minnesota and the Open Textbook Network, an alliance of higher education institutions.
Smithsonian Open Access
Provides free access to nearly three million 2D and 3D digital images from the Smithsonian's collection to download, share, and reuse. No permission required.

Find OER for all ages and levels of education in these U.S. state sponsored portals: