Skip to main content
Become a Card Holder
Many of the services will require you to have a Library Commission State Library Services library card. Especially the online resources!
Getting a library card with the library is easy:
- Send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org with the subject line "State Library Card Request."
- Provide the following information:
The State Library Card will arrive in two- to three- business days.
- Current address
- Current phone number
- Working email address
Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids
Ben's Guide to U. S. Government for Kids (part of GPO Access) - Providing learning tools for K-12 students, parents, and teachers on how our government works.
e-WV The online West Virginia Encyclopedia
The online West Virginia Encyclopedia is the comprehensive reference resource for the Mountain State. A project of the West Virginia Humanities Council, e-WV offers thousands of articles on West Virginia’s people and places, history, arts, science and culture.
e-WV is a project of the West Virginia Humanities Council.
Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
Designed for students in grades 3 - 5. It contains the following features: GO tutorial, the Grolier Online Search Box, an interactive atlas, Feature Showcase.,Today Is... , NewsNow, and For Educators. For Educators includes a collection of Lesson plans organized and searchable by grade or subject, each correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
This full text database for elementary school students ses an animated interface with a dinosaur theme that encourages students to search by topic.
eBook & eAudio
McGraw Hill eBook Library
State Library Services
Provides access to McGraw Hill's library of ebooks on the following topics: computer skills, business skills, human resource and training resources, and leadership and management resources.
State Library Services subscribes to several ebook or eaudiobook subscription services. To access these resources, a State Library Services library card is needed.
State Library Services Library
Download audiobooks on your home computer, your iPod®, or other portable devices. Available titles include current best sellers, classics, history, popular nonfiction, selections for children and young adults.
State Library Services Library
Browse the collection of eBooks and eAudiobooks then download e-books to your e-reader, tablet, smartphone, or laptop.
Rotating and Deposit Collections can expand your library's offerings of new, expensive or emerging formats while also allowing your library to broaden its collections in special genres. With help from the Library Commission's collections and librarians, rotating and deposit collections are tailored to your library's specific needs.
Click here to learn more or to request a collection.
West Virginia Library Commission
1900 Kanawha Blvd East | Culture Center, Bldg. 9 | Charleston, WV 25305
In-State Toll Free : (800) 642-9021 | (304) 558-2041