Skip to main content

Federal Government Resources: FDLP Basic Collection

American Fact Finder

AFF

American FactFinder is a source for population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas.

Online only.

The Census Bureau is developing a new data dissemination platform. See Data.Census.gov: Frequently Asked Questions and Release Notes

Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government

ben

Ben's Guide is a service of the Government Publishing Office (GPO), designed to inform students, parents, and educators about the Federal Government.

Online only.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications

CGP

The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key work, or use Advanced Search for more options.

Online only.

Compilation of Presidential Documents

Compilation of Presidential Documents

The official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.

 

Online only.

Congressional Record (Daily)

Record

The Congressional Record is the daily official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress.

 

Online, in print, and on microfiche.

Economic Indicators

econ indicators

Published monthly by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, Economic Indicators provide economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, and more.

Online and in print.

Federal Register (Daily)

fr

The Federal Register is the official daily publication of the rules, proposed rules, and notices of the Federal agencies and organizations along with executive orders and other presidential documents.

Online, in print, and on microfiche.

Occupational Outlook Handbook

ooh

The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a resource for occupational and career information, providing profiles on a majority of jobs in the United States. Profiles describe the work environment, education and training needed, ten year outlook, and median pay for workers.

Online only.

Social Security Handbook

SSA

The resource for all Social Security questions.

Online only.

United States Government Manual

govmanual

As the official handbook of the Federal Government, The United States Government Manual provides information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees.

Online only.

United States Statutes at Large

statutes

The United States Statutes at Large containing the permanent laws – public and private – that were enacted during each session of Congress.

Online and in print.

Assistance Listings

Assistance Listings

A successor to CFDA.gov, (Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance) provides detailed, public descriptions of Federal assistance listings available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); Federally recognized Indian tribal governments, Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups, and individuals.

 

Online only.

Budget of the U.S. Government

budget

The Budget contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications issued throughout the fiscal year.

Online and in print.

Code of Federal Regulations

CFR

The CFR is the annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the Federal Government.

Online, in print, and on microfiche.

Congressional Directory

Directory

The official directory of the United States Congress that includes members of the Senate and House, committee members, room and telephone numbers, and officials of the courts.

Online and in print.

Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation

constitution

Also known as the Constitution Annotated, it is the legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution based primarily on Supreme Court cases.

Online and in print.

Economic Report of the President

econ report

The Economic Report of the President is an annual report which gives an overview of the nation’s economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.

Online and in print.

govinfo

 

GovInfo

 

A database providing authenticated access to official publications from all three branches of the U.S. Government.

Online only.

 

Public Papers of the President of the United States

seal

The official publication of the President’s addresses, writings, and remarks.

Online and in print.

United States Code

us code

The permanent and general laws of the United States are divided by broad subjects into fifty-one titles.

Online and in print.

United States Reports

supreme court

Contains the Supreme Court’s opinions.

Online and in print

West Virginia Library Commission
1900 Kanawha Blvd East | Culture Center, Bldg. 9 | Charleston, WV 25305
In-State Toll Free : (800) 642-9021 | (304) 558-2041
WV.gov