Skip to main content
Collection Development and Management for 21st Century Library Collections: An Introduction, 2nd Edition
Call Number: 025.21 GREG
Publication Date: 2018-07-01
Packed with discussion questions, activities, suggested additional references, selected readings, and many other features that speak directly to students and library professionals, Gregory’s Collection Development and Management for 21st Century Library Collections is a comprehensive handbook that also shares myriad insightful ideas and approaches valuable to experienced practitioners. This new second edition brings an already stellar text fully up to date, presenting top-to-bottom coverage of
-- the impact of new technologies and developments on the discipline, including discussion of e-books, open access, globalization, self-publishing, and other trends;
-- needs assessment, policies, and selection sources and processes;
-- budgeting and fiscal management;
-- collection assessment and evaluation;
-- weeding, with special attention paid to electronic materials;
-- collaborative collection development and resource sharing;
-- marketing and outreach;
-- self-censorship as a component of intellectual freedom, professional ethics, and other legal issues;
-- diversity and ADA issues;
-- preservation; and
-- the future of the field.
Additional features include updated vendor lists, samples of a needs assessment report, a collection development policy, an approval plan, and an electronic materials license.
Fundamentals of Collection Development and Management, 4th Edition
Call Number: 025.21 JOHN
Publication Date: 2018-02-28
echnical Services Quarterly declared that the third edition “must now be considered the essential textbook for collection development and management … the first place to go for reliable and informative advice." For the fourth edition expert instructor and librarian Johnson has revised and freshened this resource to ensure its timeliness and continued excellence. Each chapter offers complete coverage of one aspect of collection development and management, including numerous suggestions for further reading and narrative case studies exploring the issues. Thorough consideration is given to:
-- traditional management topics such as organization of the collection, weeding, staffing, and policymaking;
-- cooperative collection development and management;
-- licenses, negotiation, contracts, maintaining productive relationships with vendors and publishers, and other important purchasing and budgeting topics;
-- important issues such as the ways that changes in information delivery and access technologies continue to reshape the discipline, the evolving needs and expectations of library users, and new roles for subject specialists, all illustrated using updated examples and data; and
-- marketing, liaison activities, and outreach.
As a comprehensive introduction for LIS students, a primer for experienced librarians with new collection development and management responsibilities, and a handy reference resource for practitioners as they go about their day-to-day work, the value and usefulness of this book remain unequaled.
The Medical Library Association Guide to Developing Consumer Health Collections
Call Number: 025.2 JOSE
Publication Date: 2018-03-27
The Medical Library Association Guide to Developing Consumer Health Collections guides both library graduate school students and seasoned librarians from academic, health sciences, and public libraries, to develop, maintain, nurture, and advertise consumer health collections.
This authoritative guide from the respected Medical Library Association covers all that is involved in developing a new consumer health library including:
-- Conducting community needs assessments and forging community partnerships
-- Concerns about physical space, computers, and materials
-- Funding, budgeting, and staffing
-- Privacy and confidentiality concerns
-- Publicity and advertising
This book guides both graduate library school students and seasoned librarians from all types of libraries—academic, health center, hospital, public, and school--to develop, maintain and nurture not only consumer health collections, but also community partnerships and outreach programs. Examples of librarians’ innovative and creative consumer health initiatives are included.
Chapters include all that is involved in developing a consumer health collection including conducting community needs assessments; concerns about physical space, computers, and materials; budgeting, licensing, and staffing; privacy and confidentiality concerns; and community partnership and outreach.
The Newbery & Caldecott Awards: 2019 Edition
Call Number: 011.62 NEWB
Publication Date: 2019
Updated with the 2019 award and honor books, this perennial favorite gathers together the books deemed most distinguished in American children's literature and illustration since the inception of the renowned prizes. Librarians and teachers everywhere rely on this guidebook for quick reference and collection development and also as a resource for curriculum links and readers' advisory. With an easy-to-use streamlined look and format, the 2019 guide features
-- a new interview with Caldecott Medalist Allen Say;
-- explanations of criteria used to select the winners;
-- details regarding the media used to create the artwork in Caldecott-winning titles; and
-- updated bibliographic citations and indexes for the award winners.
This resource for locating information about the best in children's books is valuable for every collection.
Guide to Streaming Video Acquisitions (An ALCTS Monograph)
Call Number: 025.2873 HART
Publication Date: 2018-08-01
Streaming video at academic libraries is here to stay. In fact, a recent study shows about two-thirds of students use video as part of their academic study and three-quarters use it to supplement their reading. But as many libraries already know, video licensing can break your budget. Serving the needs of both students and faculty requires a balanced, strategic approach. This concise collection from the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) offers guidance on such topics as
-- selection criteria for video;
-- seven common business models;
-- practical workflows, from selection and licensing to setting up access;
-- video-specific licensing considerations, including hosting and access restrictions;
-- the TEACH Act and classroom use;
-- using vendor analytic tools to improve discovery; and
-- conducting a cost per use assessment.
With the help of this book’s expert advice, academic and research libraries will be well equipped for meeting their institution’s video streaming needs.
The Stories We Share: a Guide to PreK-12 Books on the Experience of Immigrant Children and Teens in the United States
Call Number: 028.55 KHAI
Publication Date: 2018-05-30
From its earliest days, the American experience has encompassed immigrants. But in our current atmosphere of political polarization, is it any wonder that many immigrant children feel excluded and isolated? In fact, research shows first- and second- generation immigrant children and teens can be at risk of experiencing identity crisis, self-depreciation, and low self-esteem due to intergenerational and intercultural conflicts. These young readers need books that show them that their experiences are not unique—and these books also carry the important potential of promoting general understanding of and tolerance toward immigrant groups. The first of its kind, this guide spotlights dozens of award-winning titles that primarily feature a first- or second-generation immigrant child or teen as a narrator or main character. A valuable tool for teaching, collection development, and readers’ advisory, in this book ALA Carnegie-Whitney Grant-recipient Khailova
-- identifies both fiction and non-fiction titles published in the United States and Canada between 1990 and 2015 that focus on the twentieth or twenty-first century immigrant experience;
-- organizes selections by their world region of birth, including Asia, Latin America, Europe, Africa, and the Middle East, with further subdivisions by countries of origin;
-- provides historical background on the immigration patterns of each group, with a list of additional resources on the topic; and
-- offers discussion starters and questions to promote self-reflection, sense of connectedness, and empathy.
Helping librarians and educators navigate the vast terrain of multicultural literature, this book will serve as a powerful resource for increasing understanding and fostering connections with immigrant populations.
A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children's Picture Books 10th edition
Call Number: 011.62 THOM
Publication Date: 2018-06-21
Whether used for thematic story times, program and curriculum planning, readers' advisory, or collection development, this updated edition of the well-known companion makes finding the right picture books for your library a breeze.
Generations of savvy librarians and educators have relied on this detailed subject guide to children's picture books for all aspects of children's services, and this new edition does not disappoint. Covering more than 18,000 books published through 2017, it empowers users to identify current and classic titles on topics ranging from apples to zebras.
Organized simply, with a subject guide that categorizes subjects by theme and topic and subject headings arranged alphabetically, this reference applies more than 1,200 intuitive (as opposed to formal catalog) subject terms to children's picture books, making it both a comprehensive and user-friendly resource that is accessible to parents and teachers as well as librarians. It can be used to identify titles to fill in gaps in library collections, to find books on particular topics for young readers, to help teachers locate titles to support lessons, or to design thematic programs and story times. Title and illustrator indexes, in addition to a bibliographic guide arranged alphabetically by author name, further extend access to titles.
-- Offers easy subject access to children's picture books
-- Features a user-friendly organization
-- Provides in-depth indexing and full bibliographic detail
Representing the Rainbow in Young Adult Literature: LGBTQ+ content since 1969
Call Number: 810.9353 JENK
Publication Date: 2018-03-20
Discussions of gender and sexuality have become part of mainstream conversations and are being reflected in the work of more and more writers of fiction, particularly in literature aimed at young adult audiences. But young readers, regardless of their sexual orientation, don’t always know what books offer well-rounded portrayals of queer characters and situations. Fortunately, finding positive role models in fiction that features LGBTQ+ themes has become less problematic, though not without its challenges.
In Representing the Rainbow in Young Adult Literature: LGBTQ+ Content since 1969, Christine Jenkins and Michael Cart provide an overview of the literary landscape. An expanded version of The Heart Has Its Reasons, this volume charts the evolution of YA literature that features characters and themes which resonate not only with LGBTQ+ readers but with their allies as well. In this resource, Jenkins and Cart identify titles that are notable either for their excellence—accurate, thoughtful, and tactful depictions—or deficiencies—books that are wrongheaded, stereotypical, or outdated. Each chapter has been significantly updated, and this edition also includes new chapters on bisexual, transgender, and intersex issues and characters, as well as chapters on comics, graphic novels, and works of nonfiction.
This book also features an annotated bibliography and a number of author-title lists of books discussed in the text that will aid teachers, librarians, parents, and teen readers. Encompassing a wider array of sexual identities, Representing the Rainbow in Young Adult Literature is an invaluable resource for young people eager to read about books relevant to them and their lives.
Muslims in Story: Expanding Multicultural Understanding through Children's and Young Adult Literature
Call Number: 809 MANG
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
Islamophobia, a long standing, deeply entrenched global issue, disrupts civil society at many levels, from anti-Muslim policies to heightened tensions and hate crimes, including the increased bullying of Muslim children. One of the root causes of Islamophobia is ignorance, often fueled by stereotyped and negative portrayals of Muslims in media and popular culture. Muslims in Story is a timely and proactive approach to tackling this issue, by engendering friendships and empathy through quality children's and young adult literature. Exposing children in their formative years to positive stories about Muslims can go a long way to creating a multicultural understanding by cementing ideas of tolerance, respect, and acceptance. This resource
-- recommends books that will act as windows and mirrors for PreK–12 readers by showcasing diverse foods, dress, and traditions;
-- spotlights curated titles that feature Muslim kids as heroes, Islamic contributions throughout history, inspiring Muslim leaders, and folktales from Islamic traditions;
-- includes helpful information such as an overview of Muslims in America, author interviews that lend insights into the stories, and hands-on programming activities and discussion tools; and
-- provides a list of additional resources for gaining a better understanding of Islam.
This book will equip public and school library staff, including educators and collection development librarians, to make real change in their communities by validating lived experiences of Muslim kids and building a stronger sense of empathy, respect, and understanding towards Muslims.
The Readers' Advisory Guide to Teen Literature
Call Number: 028.5 CARS
Publication Date: 2018-06-01
Teen literature expert Carstensen, creator and editor of School Library Journal‘s Adult Books 4 Teens blog, presents this comprehensive resource for serving the reading interests of teens in all types of libraries. Moving far beyond merely offering lists of book titles, this RA guide specifically helps librarians and educators in public libraries, middle and high school libraries, and colleges and universities expand their knowledge of young adult literature genre by genre. Covering popular YA titles as well as adult titles with crossover appeal, Carstensen
-- offers in-depth chapters discussing realistic fiction, science fiction, fantasy, horror, historical fiction, thrillers, and nonfiction;
-- includes core titles and authors in each genre that can be used to create a reading plan, plus specific whole collection readers’ advisory advice for serving both existing fans and those new to the genre;
-- examines teen reading habits and offers tips for successful marketing; and
-- provides guidance on getting up to speed as well as additional resources for staying current.
This guide will help readers’ advisors understand what teens appreciate about their favorite genres while also serving as a helpful collection development tool.
Lgbtqai+ Books for Children and Teens
Call Number: 306.76 DORR
Publication Date: 2018-05-31
There is a rich and varied body of literature for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer/questioning, asexual/allied and intersexed young people, which can function as a mirror for LGBTQAI+ individuals and as a window for others. This resource for librarians who work with children and teens not only surveys the best in LGBTQAI+ lit but, just as importantly, offers guidance on how to share it in ways that encourage understanding and acceptance among parents, school administrators, and the wider community. Helping to fill a gap in serving this population, this guide:
-- discusses the path to marriage equality, how LGBTQAI+ terms have changed, and reasons to share LGBTQAI+ literature with all children;
-- presents annotated entries for a cross-section of the best LGBTQAI+ lit and nonfiction for young children, middle year students, and teens, with discussion questions and tips;
-- offers advice on sensitive issues such as starting conversations with young people, outreach to stakeholders, and dealing with objections and censorship head on; and
-- ideas for programming and marketing.
This resource gives school librarians, children’s, and YA librarians the guidance and tools they need to confidently share these books with the patrons they support.
West Virginia Library Commission
1900 Kanawha Blvd East | Culture Center, Bldg. 9 | Charleston, WV 25305
In-State Toll Free : (800) 642-9021 | (304) 558-2041