Skip to main content
Promoting Individual and Community Health at Your Library
Call Number: 021.28 FLAH
Publication Date: 2018-05-31
Though today’s consumers have unprecedented access to health information, its quality and veracity varies widely. Public libraries can play an important role in supporting library users in their health information seeking efforts. In this book Flaherty shows how to guide library users to high quality health information by relying on up to date, authoritative sources. She also demonstrates why taking the initiative to offer health promotion programming can be a valuable form of community outreach, serving community needs while increasing visibility. Library directors, programming staff, reference librarians, and health educators will all benefit from this book’s patron-centered stance, which features:
-- a historic overview of the consumer health movement and how it intersects with public libraries;
-- guidance on finding and evaluating the best print, electronic, and app-based health information sources, with advice on keeping up to date;
-- an in-depth look at collaborative efforts to provide and sponsor simple health-related activities in public libraries, spotlighting programs in action at libraries across the county;
-- instructions on creating, planning, preparing, marketing, and evaluating a public library health program;
-- discussions of important issues surrounding health information provision efforts, including patron privacy and liability concerns; and
-- guidelines for public libraries’ role in public health efforts, including disaster preparedness.
Armed with this book’s expert advice and plentiful examples of successful initiatives, public libraries will feel empowered to make a difference in community members’ health and well-being.
Finding the Answers to Legal Questions, Second Edition
Call Number: 340.072073TUCK
Publication Date: 2017-09-11
Whether for self-representation, to be an informed consumer of legal services, or to learn the U.S. legal system, more people than ever are using the library to obtain legal information and legal research advice. The new edition of Finding the Answers to Legal Questions is a comprehensive guide to help librarians confidently assist users in finding the legal information they need. Newly revised and updated, this timely, clearly organized, and easy-to-use resource is packed with guidance to help librarians answer questions that span the gamut of the law. An ideal book for practicing librarians looking to better serve users' legal needs, as well as for students preparing for careers as librarians, it provides
-- an overview of fundamental legal information, including the basic structure of the U.S. legal system and primary law;
-- how-to instructions for finding primary law in print sources, free websites, and pay-for-view databases;
-- information on how to evaluate the trustworthiness of online and print resources;
-- tips for conducting a legal reference interview;
-- guidance for handling common legal questions, such as lawsuits, family law, landlord-tenant disputes, wills and estate planning, debt, bankruptcy, employment, and criminal law; and
-- advice on how to build a basic legal reference collection.
This book will help librarians connect users to the most accurate, up-to-date legal information.
Helping Patrons Find Their Roots: a Genealogy Handbook for Librarians
Call Number: 025.52 SHUL
Publication Date: 2017-11-30
Public libraries have many valuable resources for diving into a patron’s lineage and family history, yet librarians themselves are sometimes not fully acquainted with all the tools available. The good news is that you don’t have to be a genealogist to help patrons find the research information they need to get in touch with their roots. In this book Schultz, an experienced genealogy librarian, guides librarians through the process, providing
-- an overview of heritage research, with an explanation of the differences between genealogy and family history;
-- step-by-step instructions for finding genealogy records;
-- a discussion of useful databases such as Ancestry Library Edition and Heritage Quest as well as print sources of information;
-- key websites to help patrons continue their search; and
-- advice on collection development and training.
Not just for reference librarians, this book will help all library staff connect patrons searching for information about their forebears.
Zotero: a Guide for Librarians, Researchers and Educators
Call Number: 025.30285 PUCK
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
"In this second edition of Zotero: a guide for librarians, researchers, and educators, Jason has significantly updated and improved on his 2011 edition, drawing on his rich experience supporting, teaching, and 'evangelizing' Zotero…[a] successful teacher will find this guide to understanding not just Zotero but also its users indispensable.”
— from the Foreword by Sebastian Karcher, Associate Director of the Qualitative Data Repository at Syracuse University, leading specialist on the Zotero reference management software and the Citation Style Language
2011’s Zotero: a guide for librarians, researchers, and educators was the first book-length treatment of this powerful research tool, and this completely revised and updated second edition is still the perfect guidebook to this robust, open access research tool that allows the user to manage all aspects of bibliographic data.
Functioning as a thorough introduction to Zotero—from setting up to saving, organizing, and citing items, and ending with more advanced topics—as well as a guide to teaching Zotero, including case studies of researchers throughout the book, this is both a guide to the tool and a handbook for understanding how different groups use it. Zotero also looks at strategies for developing effective support structures and channels within an institution and building the right linkages between relevant players, in particular library support staff and IT.
This second edition includes many more full-color figures, screenshots, and illustrations, revised bibliographies, substantial changes to the chapter on online tools, and the addition of a completely new chapter on add-ons and mobile applications. Zotero is a comprehensive guide for researchers who just need a how-to to help them make bibliographies; instruction librarians and teachers using Zotero in conjunction with classes doing research assignments; and reference librarians and tech support staff who are helping users with Zotero questions and problems.
Government Information Essentials
Call Number: 025.2 GOVE
Publication Date: 2018-09-01
Government documents, both physical and electronic, constitute a rich and varied resource that calls for special attention. And because government information is useful and pervasive in nearly every kind of library, more and more librarians of all types need to know how to work effectively with federal, state, and international resources. This contributed volume gathers the expertise of experienced government information librarians from across the country. Providing real-world insight into the work, collections, and interests of this discipline, this book
-- surveys the wide variety of government information and the people who use it;
-- discusses what it’s like to be a government documents librarian, from the first day on the job through taking on a management role;
-- addresses networking, training, and other essential tools for collaboration and learning;
-- covers space planning, streamlining, disaster preparedness and response, the increasing prevalence of digital information, and other key collection issues;
-- offers best practices for connecting library users with government information;
-- looks at research guides, workshops, and other teaching and training topics; and
-- explores advocating for transparency and access to information, promoting government documents to library users, and using exhibits as community outreach.
With more government publications becoming freely available, this volume fills an important need, presenting concrete guidance that will help librarians flourish in this crucial field.
West Virginia Library Commission
1900 Kanawha Blvd East | Culture Center, Bldg. 9 | Charleston, WV 25305
In-State Toll Free : (800) 642-9021 | (304) 558-2041