Skip to main content
Academic Library Impact: Improving Practice and Essential Areas to Research
Call Number: 027.7 ACAD
Publication Date: 2017
Now more than ever, academic libraries are being asked to demonstrate value to their institutional stakeholders, funders, and governance boards. Academic Library Impact builds on ACRL’s 2010 Value of Academic Libraries: A Comprehensive Research Review and Report and the results of the subsequent Assessment in Action program. It demonstrates how libraries are now measuring library contributions to student learning and success, and recommends where more research is needed in areas critical to the higher education sector such as accreditation, student retention, and academic achievement.
This report is also available in an open access edition here: http://www.ala.org/acrl/sites/ala.org.acrl/files/content/publications/whitepapers/academiclib.pdf.
This action-oriented research agenda includes:
-- a report on all project phases and findings;
-- a detailed research agenda based on those findings;
-- a visualization component that filters relevant literature and creates graphics that can communicate library value to stakeholders, http://experimental.worldcat.org/valresearch;
-- a bibliography of the literature analyzed; and
-- a full bibliography of the works cited and reviewed, http://www.oclc.org/content/dam/research/themes/works-cited.pdf.
All components were produced in partnership with OCLC Research and include analyses of library and information science (LIS) and higher education literature, focus group interviews and brainstorming sessions with academic library administrators at different institution types within the United States, and individual interviews with provosts.
Building on established best practices and recent research, Academic Library Impact clearly identifies priority areas and suggests specific actions for academic librarians and administrators to take in developing programs, collections, and spaces focused on student learning and success. It includes effective practices, calls out exemplary studies, and indicates where more inquiry is needed, with proposed research designs. It identifies the next generation of necessary research to continue to testify to library value. This new report is a significant milestone for ACRL’s Value of Academic Libraries initiative and for the profession.
Undergraduate Research and the Academic Librarian: Case Studies and Best Practice
Call Number: 027.7092 UNDE
Publication Date: 2017
Undergraduate research is often conflated with standard end-of-semester research papers, featuring APA style bibliographies and a certain number of sources. But in fact, undergraduate research is one of several high-impact educational practices identified by George Kuh and the Association of American Colleges & Universities, and is increasingly seen as a vital part of the undergraduate experience. Research helps students connect the dots between their interests, general education courses, writing requirements, and major coursework, and increases learning, retention, enrollment in graduate education, and engagement in future work.
In 25 chapters featuring 60 expert contributors, Undergraduate Research and the Academic Librarian examines how the structures that undergird undergraduate research, such as the library, can become part of the core infrastructure of the undergraduate experience. It explores the strategic new services and cross-departmental collaborations academic libraries are creating to support research: publishing services, such as institutional repositories and undergraduate research journals; data services; copyright services; poster printing and design; specialized space; digital scholarship services; awards; and much more. These programs can be from any discipline, can be interdisciplinary, can be any high-impact format, and can reflect upon an institution’s own history, traditions, and tensions.
As higher education becomes more competitive—for dollars, for students, for grant money, for resources in general—institutions will need to increase their development of programs that provide the experiential and deep learning, and increased engagement, that research provides. The scholarly and extracurricular experiences of college are increasingly becoming a major part of marketing college education. Beyond the one-shot, beyond course-integrated instruction, Undergraduate Research and the Academic Librarian is a detailed guide to how librarians can help students go beyond a foundation of information literacy toward advanced research and information management skills.
Academic Library Value: The Impact Starter Kit
Call Number: 027.7 OAKL
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
It’s up to you to measure the value of your academic library and how it delivers on your institution’s goals. The question is how to do it efficiently and effectively. This resource from Megan Oakleaf, who wrote a benchmark 2010 ACRL report on library value, will help you apply value and impact concepts to your own library. It includes 52 activities designed as part of professional development workshops and in consultation with libraries. By using this book, you’ll learn how to identify your stakeholders, listen to them, take new approaches to addressing value, and ultimately position your library as an increasingly valued asset. The activities inside will guide you through such key issues as
-- stakeholder views of library servicescapes;
-- institutional communications audit;
-- assessment fears, challenges, and barriers;
-- impact on student retention;
-- involving the entire library organization; and
-- reporting the results.
This kit will help academic libraries measure their existing value while also identifying ways to increase their value in the context of their institutional missions.
2016 ACRL Academic Library Trends and Statistics for Carnegie Classification
Call Number: 027.709 ACAD
Publication Date: 2017
The complete data set from ACRL's comprehensive statistics-gathering project encompassing all academic libraries in one easy-to-use volume. Includes institutions in Carnegie classifications Associate of Arts degree granting, Master's Colleges and Universities, Baccalaureate Colleges, and Research/Doctoral-granting Institutions. Data from 1,525 academic libraries in all Carnegie classifications is included. The core set of data consists of four major categories:
-- Collections: which includes titles held, volumes, and electronic books;
-- Expenditures: which includes library materials (one-time purchases and ongoing purchases), salaries and wages, etc.;
-- Personnel and Public Services: which includes size of staff, information service transactions, circulations, ILL, gate count, hours;
-- Staffing trends: staff expertise, cross-training/repurposing staff, reference staffing, types of information literacy instruction, staffing for student services, types of workshops offered, new staffing trends.
Academic Librarianship, 2nd edition
Call Number: 025.1977 EVAN
Publication Date: 2018-01-06
Ideal for practitioners looking to advance their careers and for use in LIS programs, this "comprehensive overview" (Journal of Access Services) has been thoroughly revised and updated to provide a timely exploration of the characteristics of academic librarianship and its place in the ever-changing environment of higher education. Evans and new coauthor Greenwell guide readers towards understanding what is required to have a successful career in academic librarianship, explaining why academic libraries are distinct from other types of libraries and lending practical insight into their unique political and operational characteristics. The text offers comprehensive coverage of such key issues as
-- teaching faculty roles and the status of the academic librarian;
-- governance and the growing tension on some campuses between faculty and administration;
-- curriculum, with a discussion of the balance between general education requirements and applied courses;
-- the student body;
-- collections, data management, digitization, and metadata;
-- scholarly communication, plus alternative models such as open educational resources (OERs);
-- providing quality service, and the role of user experience (UX) in assessment;
-- ACRL's Information Literacy Framework;
-- funding, including how and where to find detailed higher education expenditure data;
-- classrooms, common learning spaces, and other facilities;
-- staffing and professional development;
-- technology and IT support;
-- career development, with advice on preparing a vita and undergoing a successful interview; and
-- the future of academic librarianship.
This updated edition enables readers to understand how academic libraries deliver information, offer services, and provide learning spaces in new ways to better meet the needs of today's students, faculty, and other communities of academic library users.
Art and Design
The Handbook of Art and Design Librarianship: 2nd edition
Call Number: 026.7 ART
Publication Date: 2017-11-30
The Handbook of Art and Design Librarianship integrates theory and practice to offer guidelines for information professionals working in art and design environments who need to support and anticipate the information needs of artists, designers, architects, and the historians who study those disciplines. Since the first edition of this title, the world of art and design libraries has been transformed by rapid advances in technology, an explosion in social media, and the release of new standards and guidelines. This new edition, offering mostly entirely new chapters, provides an accessible, fully updated guide to the world of academic art and design libraries from a range of international experts who reflect current practice at a global level. Featuring a foreword by Clive Phillpot, Fermley Press, London (formerly Director of the Library, Museum of Modern Art, New York), this book’s coverage includes:
-- Case studies and library profiles, providing benchmarks for developing facilities;
-- Teaching and learning, including the ACRL Framework;
-- Special collections, metaliteracies, instructional design, and cultural differences;
-- Developments in institutional repositories, digital humanities, and makerspaces; and
-- Contemporary library design, spaces for collaboration and sustainability.
With a foreword by Clive Phillpot, Fermley Press, London (formerly Director of the Library, Museum of Modern Art, New York).
The Fun of Motivation: Crossing the Threshold Concepts, Publications in Librarianship no. 71
Call Number: 025.5677 FRAN
Publication Date: 2017
What’s the place of fun in education? When students learn something new, they reach a learning edge, a threshold, where learning becomes uncomfortable because the material is difficult or beyond their understanding. To avoid this discomfort, some students can simply fall back on what they already know. This is a critical point, because if they do not move beyond the edge, they are stuck with both limited knowledge and a negative feeling about learning. Fun can be used as a motivating technique to help students get past this learning edge, and to meet an established goal or learning objective.
The Fun of Motivation: Crossing the Threshold Concepts is organized into two parts—Part I examines the theories behind motivation and fun in the classroom, and offers three instructional techniques that highlight their benefits. Part II is the application of the theories explored in Part I, and its six chapters each address one of the threshold concepts provided in ACRL’s Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education. Each chapter contains three lesson plans addressing the threshold concept, one for each of the three fun instructional techniques. Assessment opportunities are provided throughout, with formative assessment strategies as well as summative assessments, including sample rubrics to apply to a range of student work. Each lesson plan ends with a section on possible modifications and accommodations and additional ideas on how to adapt the lesson for different student populations.
The threshold concepts within the Framework need to be facilitated with deliberation by librarians integrating them into their instruction sessions. Students must be motivated to learn these concepts that help them master skills across disciplines. The Fun of Motivation can help you explore, implement, and assess this powerful means of motivation.
Disciplinary Applications of Information LIteracy Threshold Concepts
Call Number: 028.7071 DISC
Publication Date: 2017
The definition of threshold concepts has been expanded over the years based on the work of many educational scholars and practitioners, but are essentially described as a portal, transition, or threshold to additional learning and deeper understanding for a learner. Threshold concepts are transformative, integrative, irreversible, bounded, and troublesome, and can be a valuable tool in both facilitating students’ understanding of their subject and aiding in curriculum development within the disciplines.
In 25 chapters divided into sections mirroring ACRL’s Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education—Authority is Constructed and Contextual, Information Creation as a Process, Information has Value, Research as Inquiry, Scholarship as Conversation, and Searching as Strategic Exploration—Disciplinary Applications of Information Literacy Threshold Concepts explores threshold concepts as an idea and the specifics of what the concepts contained in the Framework look like in disciplinary contexts. The chapters cover many disciplines, including the humanities, social sciences, life sciences, and physical sciences, and a range of students, from first-year undergraduates to doctoral students.
Disciplinary Applications of Information Literacy Threshold Concepts provides a balance of theoretical and practical to help readers both conceptually and pragmatically with their work in supporting student learning, including chapters in which librarians have designed learning outcomes aligned with the frames of the Framework. These examples demonstrate different approaches to working with information literacy threshold concepts and how librarians are incorporating them within their disciplinary and institutional contexts. As Ray Land says in the Foreword, “This volume marks a significant new departure in the development of the threshold concepts analytic framework.”
Creating and Sharing Online Library Instruction
Call Number: 025.5677 PITT
Publication Date: 2017-06-01
Designed to be reused and shared, learning objects are digital content and assessments centered on student learning outcomes. The promise of sharing online instruction across libraries, campuses, or a consortium holds time-saving appeal. An easy to follow tutorial for creating online library instruction with learning objects, this manual is written by three librarians with the New Literacies Alliance (NLA). Winner of the 2016 ACRL IS Innovation Award, NLA is an interinstitutional information literacy consortium that addresses the “new” literacies required for academic success and lifelong learning. This book
-- walks readers through creating and sharing outcome-based lessons that allow students to master skills at their own pace;
-- demonstrates how to use assessment to ensure that students learn foundational research and critical thinking skills rather than simply how to use a database or discovery platform;
-- sketches in the background and mission of NLA, sharing examples of successful collaboration across institutions;
-- includes an assortment of NLA’s workflows, design processes, and style guides; and
-- offers project planning and implementation tools, including checklists, steps, and critical questions to consider.
Written for groups or individuals who want to collaborate to build learning objects, this book will also be useful to anyone with a desire to learn more about resource sharing, instructional design, and library instruction.
Financial Management in Academic Libraries: Data-Driven Planning and Budgeting
Call Number: 025.1977 DUGA
Publication Date: 2017
An academic library’s budget and expenditures demonstrate its accountability, effectiveness, efficiency, and sustainability to its institution. All library managers must understand and manage budgets, from planning through implementation, reporting, and conducting audits. Budgeters also need familiarity with the use of metrics, the ability to relate the use of the data gathered to improved performance and organizational efficiency, and automated management information systems to effectively tell their library’s story and advocate for budgetary support.
In its first eight chapters, with tables, figures, data application, and exercises throughout, Financial Management in Academic Libraries: Data-Driven Planning and Budgeting covers the various stages and topics involved in managing budgets: planning; the types of budgets used in academic institutions; the overall budgeting process as well as a specific process in program budgeting; managing a budget during the fiscal year and its aftermath; and providing reports on the budget. The ninth chapter introduces general concepts to help address budget reduction strategies, potential fraud, and financial best practices. And the final chapter elevates the discussion from financial management to financial leadership, the articulation of a detailed vision, and the realignment of the budget with the promises specified in that vision.
Financial Management in Academic Libraries explores the connection between financial management and accountability, effectiveness, efficiency, and sustainability, and demonstrates how to capture them in a realistic, data-supported budget. Among the different units of an academic institution, the library has an advantage in that its managers can link these concepts to the library’s infrastructure, its staffing, collections, services, and technology. Focusing on these components can enable everyone in the library to work to achieve organizational sustainability over time and advocate for their place in the institution.
Academic Library Management: Case Studies
Call Number: 025.1977 ACAD
Publication Date: 2017-07-17
What does successful academic library management look like in the real world? A team of editors, all administrators at large research libraries, here present a selection of case studies which dive deeply into the subject to answer that question. Featuring contributions from a range of practicing academic library managers, this book
-- spotlights case studies equally useful for LIS students and current managers;
-- touches upon such key issues as human resource planning, public relations, financial management, organizational culture, and ethics and confidentiality;
-- examines how to use project management methodology to reorganize technical services, create a new liaison service model, advance a collaborative future, and set up on-the-spot mentoring;
-- discusses digital planning for archives and special collections;
-- rejects "one size fits all" solutions to common challenges in academic libraries in favor of creative problem solving; and
-- provides guidance on how to use case studies as effective models for positive change at one's own institution.
LIS instructors, students, and academic library practitioners will all find enrichment from this selection of case studies.
Textbooks in Academic Libraries: Selection, Circulation, and Assessment
Call Number: 025.21877 TEXT
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
Shortly after the syllabi are posted, and long before the beginning of the term, interlibrary loan departments at academic libraries will have filled or rejected innumerable textbook requests. While it would be unwise if not impossible to buy and circulate every textbook at a college or university, there are many academic libraries who are selectively adding textbooks to their collections. And the practice seems to be gaining momentum. In this volume, the Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS) and editor Chris Diaz gather case studies that pull together creative approaches and best practices for print textbook reserve programs. This book discusses such topics as
-- results and analysis from a detailed survey of a state university’s core-course textbook reserve program;
-- funding sources for starting or piloting a program;
-- using aggregated enrollment, grade, and textbook cost data to identify "high impact" courses;
-- identifying course-related books that are in the library’s collection or fit an existing collection policy;
-- workflow for using bookstore data with ILS and purchasing systems; and
-- using LibGuides and Google Sheets to publicize textbook holdings, and how a back-end database supports discovery for students and reporting for reserves staff.
A textbook reserve program can be one way of helping students who are struggling with the high cost of textbooks, and this book spotlights a variety of examples that can be used as models.
Affordable Course Materials: Electronic Textbooks and Open Educational Resources
Call Number: 025.21877 AFFO
Publication Date: 2017-07-01
A recent survey reports that a student’s average costs of textbooks for a year at a public four-year university is nearly $1,300. Equally worrisome is another study’s finding that two-thirds of students will skip using a textbook because of the cost. By offering and spotlighting affordable course materials, academic libraries can prove their value while helping to create a more equitable learning experience for students. In this book, the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) has gathered its members’ expertise to describe affordable text initiatives that promise to improve student learning and student retention. Topics covered include
-- surprising findings on the most expensive courses for textbook requirements;
-- a case study showing how LSU abandoned DDA, established requirements for e-books collections, and boosted usage to 17,000 unique titles accessed;
-- ways to build on existing procedures and relationships of print reserves to develop e-book collections for courses;
-- how to work productively with campus bookstores;
-- analysis of library programs that offered grants to faculty for developing course texts at UCLA, North Carolina State University, and the University of Southern Mississippi;
-- creating a textbook database so faculty can discover potential textbooks the library already has or could purchase in e-book format;
-- measuring textbook usage through COUNTER reports or course reserve systems; and
-- ideas for partnering with campus instructional technology and distance ed units.
This valuable book demonstrates how librarians can use their collection, licensing, and faculty outreach know-how to help students and their instructors address skyrocketing textbook prices.
West Virginia Library Commission
1900 Kanawha Blvd East | Culture Center, Bldg. 9 | Charleston, WV 25305
In-State Toll Free : (800) 642-9021 | (304) 558-2041