Skip to main content
The Public Library Director's Toolkit
Call Number: 025.1 HALL
Publication Date: 2019-04-01
New public library directors quickly learn what seasoned directors already know: running a library means you’ve always got your hands full—balancing the needs of staff, patrons, facilities, library boards, and other stakeholders with professional responsibilities like community interactions, legal and financial requirements, and whole lot else that wasn’t exactly in the job description. Whether you are considering becoming a public library director, are brand new to the role, or have settled in but find yourself thinking “there’s got to be a better way,” authors Hall and Parker are here to help. This book walks you through the core components of getting up to speed and then provides templates, sample documents, checklists, and other resources that will make your job easier. Gleaned from their own decades of experience in library leadership positions, in this toolkit they
-- cover such key topics as employees, trustees, finances, legal issues, library policies, emergency planning, and technology;
-- discuss strategic planning and share advice on keeping up with trends;
-- offer nearly two dozen ready-to-use resources, including a Director’s Report Template, a Social Media Policy, an Employee Exit Questionnaire, a Library Cleaning Checklist, a Vision Statement worksheet, and more; and
-- suggest additional learning opportunities in each chapter to help you continue your learning journey.
Public library directors can steer clear of common pain points by relying on the expert guidance and organizational aids in this toolkit.
Recipes for Mindfulness in Your Library: Supporting Resilience and Community Engagement
Call Number: 025.5019 RECI
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
Mindfulness not only offers the possibility of a healthy life/career balance for librarians themselves, but in challenging times of rapid social change and uncertainty, it also represents a powerful way to build community resilience. In fact, mindfulness experiences can be structured to nurture the kind of civic engagement and discourse essential for library support. This collection explores a wide range of approaches that demonstrate how librarians have integrated mindfulness into their teaching, collections, services, programming, spaces, partnerships, and professional development. An inspirational idea generator for library administrators, marketers, and outreach staff, in this book the contributors delve into such mindful activities as
-- using a work journal to practice reflective writing;
-- mindful strategies for leading library teams;
-- yoga and meditation groups at public libraries;
-- helping students destress with a library Zen Zone;
-- deploying digital resources to promote mindfulness;
-- mindful scholarship at Minneapolis College; and
-- overcoming research anxiety using a mindful approach.
As more librarians commit to individual and sustained reflection and practices in their own lives, those approaches can expand to include the communities they serve. This collection offers more than a dozen in-depth examples of mindfulness in action.
Public Relations & Marketing
Using Twitter to Build Communities: A Primer for Libraries, Archives, and Museums
Call Number: 021.65028546 FORR
Publication Date: 2018-11-02
Using Twitter to Build Communities looks at ways for libraries, archives, and museums to go far beyond Twitter as a “broadcasting” tool, and highlights innovative methods to use the service to spark communication and create ties within your institution’s greater community.
Appropriate for the social media beginner as well as the experienced user, it covers topics like:
-- Creating a social media strategy/policy
-- Choosing the right software
-- Gaining followers
-- Curating content
-- Automating your feed
-- Embedding your feed
-- Using cross-platform strategies
-- Using analytics
This book condenses years of research and expertise on using Twitter in an institutional setting into one handy reference for launching or reviving your organization's Twitter presence into an impactful medium in your community.
Video Marketing for Libraries: A Practical Guide for Librarians
Call Number: 021.7 DALA
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
Today’s libraries need to market their resources and services more than ever. Libraries can strengthen their relationships with their users and gain new audiences by creating their own promotional videos. However, creating marketing videos can be intimidating for beginners and challenging for even seasoned pros.
Video Marketing for Libraries provides step-by-step instructions on how to produce videos designed to market your library and strategies to assess their impact. You too can increase awareness of your library’s resources & services by producing your own videos.
This book will guide you through:
·gaining internal support
·crafting a clear message
·building the library’s audience
·writing storyboards and scripts
·casting and rehearsing actors
·filming and recording voiceover, editing, publishing, promoting
·using online tools & animation software
·and assessing impact
Intentional Marketing: A Practical Guide for Librarians
Call Number: 021.7 OTTO
Publication Date: 2018-10-15
User-friendly, cost-conscious, and filled with examples from libraries of all types, Intentional Marketing: A Practical Guide for Librarians helps you maximize the return on your marketing investment (ROMI) by showing ways to combine marketing theory with in-house data, creating a global strategy that will drive all of your library marketing.
This book includes:
-- Discussions of marketing theory and how a global approach makes marketing easier, more effective, and less expensive
-- Step-by-step guides to help define what you are marketing, why you are marketing it, and to whom
-- Ways to identify everyone who affects funding, and how to turn them into stakeholders
-- Ways to increase staff and stakeholder buy-in
-- Examples of successful marketing efforts at other libraries
-- Discussions of different marketing tools (print and digital publications, social media, special events, public relations, programming, etc.), their costs, and how to determine which to use
-- Model feedback and assessment forms
This book is a reference handbook with examples and step-by-step guides. It is written for library staff members who are currently implementing components of marketing in a piecemeal fashion and need a unifying context to streamline their efforts and improve their effectiveness.
America's Information Wars: The Untold Story of Information Systems in America's Conflicts and Politics from World War II to the Internet Age
Call Number: 327.1273009 BURK
Publication Date: 2018-03-06
This book narrates the development of science, sci/tech, and intelligence information systems and technologies in the United States from the beginning of World War II to the second decade of our century. The story ranges from a description of the information systems and machines of the 1940s created at Wild Bill Donovan’s predecessors of the Central Intelligence Agency, to the rise of a huge international science information industry, and to the 1990’s Open Access-Open Culture reformers’ reactions to the commercialization of science information. Necessarily, there is much about the people, cultures, and politics that shaped the methods, systems, machines and protests. The reason for that is simple: The histories of technologies and methods are human histories. Science information’s many lives were shaped by idiosyncrasies and chance, as well as by social, economic, political and technical ‘forces’.
The varied motives, personalities and beliefs of unique and extraordinary people fashioned science information’s past. The important players ranged from a gentleman scholar who led the Office of Strategic Services’ information work, to an ill-fated Hollywood movie director, to life-mavericks like the science information legend Eugene Garfield, to international financial wheeler-dealers such as Robert Maxwell, and to youthful ultra-liberal ideologically-driven Silicon Valley internet millionaires. However, although there are no determining laws of information history, social, political, legal and economic factors were important. After 1940, science information’s tools and policies, as well as America’s universities, were being molded by the nation’s wealth, its role in international affairs, the stand-off between left and right politics, and by the intensifying conflict between Soviet and Western interests.
The Library Outreach Casebook
Call Number: 021.2 SITT
Publication Date: 2018-10-01
Library outreach can be tough: There’s no standard definition of outreach among libraries, and what it consists of differs from institution to institution. Some libraries focus on marketing and advertising services, while others concentrate on relationship building with their constituents. Some focus on fun events to coax people into their facility.
The cases in The Library Outreach Casebook provide creative and reproducible formats, ideas, and inspirations, from engaging social media to hosting performances to creating exhibits. Expert chapter authors take you from the beginning steps—determining which tools and resources you need for your outreach efforts—all the way through implementation of a variety of outreach initiatives, and every step in-between.
Divided into three sections—Starting Strategies, Programing and Event Planning, and Outreach to Select Populations—this casebook is designed for librarians working in all types of libraries to use as a tool to start or further their current outreach efforts. The Library Outreach Casebook provides readers with many different approaches, formats, and solutions that lead to successful outreach.
Be Opportunity-Minded: Start Growing Your Career Now
Call Number: 020.2373 WILL
Publication Date: 2018-11-01
If the proverbial career ladder feels more like a treadmill, it’s time for a different approach. Besides, who wants to climb a ladder anyway? Wouldn’t you rather learn how to explore, grow, and gain new skills that will lead you to new opportunities? This book, from a career coach who’s been advising library workers and other professionals for more than 25 years, is your new toolbox. Alongside plenty of encouragement to help you cultivate a positive mindset, it offers techniques for self-reflection and concrete strategies that will ensure you keep growing regardless of where you are in your career. Teaching you how to recognize opportunities for growth and then leverage them, this resource
-- looks beyond traditional moves into management positions to emphasize alternative career growth options;
-- discusses trends in librarianship and how they should guide your own growth plan;
-- includes inspiring interviews from a wide range of library professionals who have successfully jumpstarted their careers by seizing opportunities; and
-- features worksheets that will guide you as you take action, using a combination of exercises, a customizable timetable, and other related tools.
This book will give you the tools you need to sustain an ongoing, self-directed growth plan, the hallmark of a lifelong successful career.
Your Passport to International Librarianship
Call Number: 020.6 CARL
Publication Date: 2018-04-01
Whether you’re a library professional with decades of experience or a recent graduate in your first position, career enrichment can mean so much more than simply watching a webinar, taking a class, or even attending a conference. There’s a different kind of professional development out there, one that involves travel, experiencing different cultures and new languages, and learning the kinds of interpersonal skills you can’t get sitting behind a desk. Volunteering in international libraries is not only feasible, it’s also the perfect prescription for recharging, renewing, and recommitting oneself to librarianship. In this book the authors draw from their experiences working with groups such as Librarians without Borders to offer a passport to these exciting opportunities, regardless of your career path or what kind of institution you serve. Easy to follow and packed with everything you need to get underway, this guide includes
-- an in-depth discussion of what international librarianship (IL) entails, and why its emphasis on collaboration and advocacy makes it such a nourishing form of professional development;
-- stories from librarians around the world about their own IL approaches, activities, and experiences;
-- straightforward guidance for getting started, from researching IL opportunities to making it work in the context of your job;
-- trip planning, fundraising, and cost saving tips for maximizing limited time and budgets;
-- advice on staying connected and maintaining momentum after the trip is over;
-- ways to bypass the need to travel by volunteering digitally and remotely; and
-- detailed information about IL organizations and additional resources.
This resource is your passport to finding personal enrichment and professional development through volunteering internationally.
Foundations of Information Ethics
Call Number: 175 FOUN
Publication Date: 2019-04-01
As discussions about the roles played by information in economic, political, and social arenas continue to evolve, the need for an intellectual primer on information ethics that also functions as a solid working casebook for LIS students and professionals has never been more urgent. This text, written by a stellar group of ethics scholars and contributors from around the globe, expertly fills that need. Organized into twelve chapters, making it ideal for use by instructors, this volume from editors Burgess and Knox
-- thoroughly covers principles and concepts in information ethics, as well as the history of ethics in the information professions;
-- examines human rights, information access, privacy, discourse, intellectual property, censorship, data and cybersecurity ethics, intercultural information ethics, and global digital citizenship and responsibility;
-- synthesizes the philosophical underpinnings of these key subjects with abundant primary source material to provide historical context along with timely and relevant case studies;
-- features contributions from John M. Budd, Paul T. Jaeger, Rachel Fischer, Margaret Zimmerman, Kathrine A. Henderson, Peter Darch, Michael Zimmer, and Masooda Bashir, among others; and
-- offers a special concluding chapter by Amelia Gibson that explores emerging issues in information ethics, including discussions ranging from the ethics of social media and social movements to AI decision making.
This important survey will be a key text for LIS students and an essential reference work for practitioners.
Rights and Reproductions: The Handbook for Cultural Institutions, Second Edition
Call Number: 346.7304 RIGH
Publication Date: 2018-11-27
Management and dissemination of the Intellectual Property (IP) assets maintained by cultural institutions is a key responsibility of caring for collections. Rights and reproductions methodologies are seemingly ever-changing with new technologies, additional distribution avenues, evolving case law, applicable court decisions, and new legislation.
This revised edition of Rights & Reproductions: The Handbook for Cultural Institutions marks the first time this valuable publication is available in print as well as digital. Building upon the guidelines, standards, and best practices outlined in the first edition, the Handbook further investigates current trends in rights and reproductions practices, notably expanding the discussion of fair use guidelines and codes, Creative Commons and RightsStatements.org, open access, social media applications, and the overall process of conducting rights clearances and obtaining permissions for the growing list of possible uses of a cultural institution’s IP.
Highlights of the second edition include:
-- a new chapter devoted to fair use and open access
-- overall updates to applicable case law, rights clearance practices, and distribution partners
-- over 20 case studies outlining real-world examples from the authors’ experiences and practices at their institutions
-- expanded glossary defining terms without heavy legalese
-- updated appendices with new references, resources, and court decisions
-- over 50 contract and document templates provided by the authors’ institutions
The Handbook is the must-have, comprehensive resource for cultural institution professionals handling rights-related work, including registrars, rights and reproductions managers, archivists, librarians, and lawyers.
Library Support Staff
Supervision and Management: An Introduction for Support Staff
Call Number: 023.9 SHAW
Publication Date: 2018-09-18
Many library support staff (LSS) who do not have management training will assume supervisory roles in library services during their careers. This book is written to help LSS understand, support, and apply the basic principles of library supervision and management in their work on the topics of regulations and bylaws hiring, staff performance expectations, leadership and professional learning. Readers will learn how to engage in effective decision-making and participate in productive library meetings. The importance of library policies, and procedures are explained through many practical examples.
The scope of the book addresses many different aspects and examples of library management and how LSS can seek supportive roles to enhance library services and programs. Chapters are written on these topics:
-- Basic regulations and bylaws
-- Principles of management
-- Staff performance expectations
-- Leadership, professional learning
-- Library policies and procedures
The book also addresses budget, fundraising and grants, partnerships, community demographics, marketing, goal management, customer service, conducting meetings, and effective decision-making. This book is aligned with the revised ALA- LSSC competency standards for management and supervision, and may be used as a textbook by instructors of Library Science programs or as a reference manual for library support staff who are learning on the job about the ever changing environment of working with others.
Communication and Teamwork: An Introduction for Support Staff
Call Number: 023.8 KEELER
Publication Date: 2018-09-07
Support staff in all types of libraries must work together in a variety of situations. This is both a textbook and on-the-job manual covering the skills and behaviors necessary for effective teamwork and communication. Trained library support staff should know the basic concepts of interpersonal relations, customer service, teamwork, and communication. The range and diversity of staff in today’s library requires that support staff understand and implement these basic principles.
The chapters of this book are carefully and purposefully aligned with the new American Library Association – Library Support Staff Certification (LSSC) competency standards for Communication and Teamwork. Each chapter begins with the LSSC Competencies that are to be addressed, a help to instructors who use this book as a teaching text. This is followed by a list of topics that will be covered as well as a glossary of key terms. Chapters are then broken into easily readable sections that relate back to the key terms. No other book is available that uses the ALA-LSSC standards as the focus for teaching through practical examples how library support staff can effectively use them on the job.
Other books on this topic are written at a level that is aimed for professional librarians and not support staff. However, 85% of library support staff do not hold professional degrees. Written in clear language, this book will help library support staff become effective public service personnel.
Collaborative Library Design: From Planning to Impact
Call Number: 022.30973 COLL
Publication Date: 2018-07-01
Talking about why collaboration is so important is one thing—but taking an in-depth look at the ways it works (and sometimes doesn’t work) in real-world design projects is both more revealing and instructive. Award-winning architect Gisolfi does exactly that in this essential new book, presenting detailed case studies of ten design projects from public, academic, and school libraries that identify paths to success as well as hazards to avoid. Inside, library planners, designers, and administrators will find practical guidance directly applicable to their own undertakings, regardless of size or complexity. This book
-- examines ten library design projects from a range of institutions, such as an academic library recovering from a fire, a high school library transitioning into the 21st century, and a public library that was transformed over many decades from a one-room schoolhouse to a 48,000-square-foot building;
-- includes plentiful illustrations, photos, diagrams, and plans that explain the buildings;
-- presents essays for each project written by the board member or academic administrator who participated and contributed to the planning, and the architect who lead the design team;
-- features honest evaluations of each project from a librarian responsible for the day-to-day operation in the new space, complete with observations of how patrons now use the facility; and
-- offers a closing essay discussing new trends in library design that will help assure the library’s position as a vital civic institution.
Through the real-life examples in this book, readers will learn how the successful modification of existing library buildings or the creation of new buildings requires the active participation and effective collaboration of library board members, administrators, librarians, and architects.
Planning Optimal Library Spaces: Principles, Processes, and Practices
Call Number: 022.3 MOOR
Publication Date: 2018-01-25
Planning Optimal Library Spaces: Principles, Process, and Practices demystifies library space planning, inspires creative thinking, and offers immediate how-to steps to rectify seemingly hopeless situations. It describes an approach to library space planning that introduces and combines a phased implementation strategy with traditional space planning to allow library transformations and renovations to be done as a single project or a series of smaller, separate, and more manageable phased interventions. It allows libraries to meet current needs sooner, as smaller funding opportunities arise, instead of waiting on completely funded projects to develop.
Chapters cover the approach, the importance of community engagement meetings, collection storage strategies, the anatomy of a library project budget, recommendations for getting started, and case studies of both public and academic library planning projects with detailed phasing strategies.
Printed in full color with 148 images, this is a must-have book for librarians, architects, government/education administrators, and anyone involved with, or even thinking about a library planning or renovation project.
Foundations of Information Policy
Call Number: 020 JAEG
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
Foreword by Alan S. Inouye; Afterword by Nancy Kranich
The first of its kind, this important new text provides a much-needed introduction to the myriad information policy issues that impact information professionals, information institutions, and the patrons and communities served by those institutions. In this key textbook for LIS students and reference text for practitioners, noted scholars Jaeger and Taylor
-- draw from current, authoritative sources to familiarize readers with the history of information policy;
-- discuss the broader societal issues shaped by policy, including access to infrastructure, digital literacy and inclusion, accessibility, and security;
-- elucidate the specific laws, regulations, and policies that impact information, including net neutrality, filtering, privacy, openness, and much more;
-- use case studies from a range of institutions to examine the issues, bolstered by discussion questions that encourage readers to delve more deeply;
-- explore the intersections of information policy with human rights, civil rights, and professional ethics; and
-- prepare readers to turn their growing understanding of information policy into action, through activism, advocacy, and education.
This book will help future and current information professionals better understand the impacts of information policy on their activities, improving their ability to serve as effective advocates on behalf of their institutions, patrons, and communities.
Beyond Banned Books: Defending Intellectual Freedom Throughout Your Library
Call Number: 025.213 PEKO
Publication Date: 2019-05-01
Equitable access to information for all, including underserved populations, is a core value of librarianship. The growing awareness of where this inequality persists has led many professionals to take steps to advance social justice within their institutions, from creating book displays about the Black Lives Matter movement or LGBT History Month to hosting programs by potentially controversial speakers. But while libraries are often well-versed in protecting the right to read books, many lack policies and experience in addressing censorship of resources and services. This resource from Pekoll, Assistant Director of the American Library Association’s Office for Intellectual Freedom (OIF), uses specific case studies to offer practical guidance on safeguarding intellectual freedom related to library displays, programming, and other librarian-created content. Essential for library directors, administrators, marketers, and programming staff, Beyond Banned Books
-- spotlights case studies drawn from public libraries, schools, universities, and government agencies dealing with library displays, artwork, programs, bookmarks and reading lists, social media, and databases;
-- summarizes possible complaints and controversies related to each area;
-- draws connections between the intellectual freedom principles involved and associated legal issues, with relevant court opinions when possible;
-- shares questions to consider when strengthening a library’s defenses against censorship;
-- discusses the importance of reporting challenges to OIF, and the professional and institutional support that OIF can provide when challenges arise; and
-- includes key ALA policies on intellectual freedom as appendices.
This guide will ensure that libraries are prepared to protect diverse voices from censorship while fostering more inclusive institutions that represent and welcome all people and ideas.
Library Management 101: A Practical Guide
Call Number: 025.1 LIBR
Publication Date: 2019-04-01
Just because a set of responsibilities isn’t formally called management doesn’t mean that it isn’t management. And this vital text speaks to a reality that all current professionals already know: that is, everyone studying to enter the profession needs an introduction to the topic of management. Because no matter what one’s role in an academic or public library context, it will involve decision-making, planning, and organization skills. Newly revised and updated, this book pulls together management best practices from library management experts teaching in LIS programs across the U.S. and Canada. Among the many topics discussed are
-- classic and contemporary theories of management, and how they apply to the library;
-- human resource planning;
-- marketing and public relations;
-- negotiations, mediation, and financial management of the library;
-- facilities management;
-- information technology management and future trends;
-- change management, organizational culture; and
-- ethics and confidentiality.
In addition to providing students with a solid foundation in library management, with its structured, practical knowledge this impressive volume will also benefit experienced managers.
User Privacy: A Practical Guide for Librarians
Call Number: 025.04 CONN
Publication Date: 2018-01-19
Personal data in the online world as become a commodity. Coveted by criminals, demanded by governments, and used for unsavory purposes by marketers and advertisers, your private information is at risk everywhere. For libraries and librarians, this poses a professional threat as well as a personal one. How can we protect the privacy of library patrons and users who browse our online catalogs, borrow sensitive materials, and use our public computers and networks?
User Privacy: A Practical Guide for Librarians answers that question. Through simple explanations and detailed, step-by-step guides, library professionals will learn how to strengthen privacy protections for:
- Library policies
- Wired and wireless networks
- Public computers
- Web browsers
- Mobile devices
- Cloud computing
Each chapter begins with a "threat assessment" that provides an overview of the biggest security risks – and the steps that can be taken to deal with them. Also covered are techniques for preserving online anonymity, protecting activists and at-risk groups, and the current state of data encryption.
Fake News, Propaganda, and Plain Old Lies: How to Find Trustworthy Information in the Digital Age
Call Number: 070.43 BARC
Publication Date: 2018-06-25
Are you overwhelmed at the amount, contradictions, and craziness of all the information coming at you in this age of social media and twenty-four-hour news cycles?
Fake News, Propaganda, and Plain Old Lies will show you how to identify deceptive information as well as how to seek out the most trustworthy information in order to inform decision making in your personal, academic, professional, and civic lives.
• Learn how to identify the alarm bells that signal untrustworthy information.
• Understand how to tell when statistics can be trusted and when they are being used to deceive.
• Inoculate yourself against the logical fallacies that can mislead even the brightest among us.
Donald A. Barclay, a career librarian who has spent decades teaching university students to become information literate scholars and citizens, takes an objective, non-partisan approach to the complex and nuanced topic of sorting deceptive information from trustworthy information.
Before the Ballot: Building Political Support for Library Funding
Call Number: 025.11 CHRA
Publication Date: 2018-12-01
Let’s be blunt: library funding is political. And the struggle to secure funding is ongoing; the work that librarians need to do to influence local politics doesn’t just pop up in the few months before Election Day. It should span the years before or between elections. The authors’ previous book Winning Elections and Influencing Politicians for Library Funding targeted library ballot committees and advocacy organizations. But their new book speaks directly to librarians, library staff, and boards. It is designed to help library leaders understand and navigate the political nature of their work in the years leading up to a ballot measure or political initiative. Sharing the tools and tactics developed by their organization EveryLibrary, the nation’s first and only Political Action Committee for Libraries, in this book they
-- discuss how the day-to-day work of librarians, their communications with the public, and their roles and responsibilities in the community can help increase the willingness of public and local elected officials to support funding libraries through taxes;
-- guide readers through the practical side of running a public-facing Informational Communications Campaign for their library before Election Day;
-- explain the concept of surfacing, the important groundwork of occupying a strong and positive space in the community during the years before and between ballot measures;
-- demonstrate why surfacing is one of the most crucial steps a library can take to build and maintain support;
-- share the most recent data insights into voter attitudes about libraries and librarians;
-- show how libraries can coordinate internally to build new external partners;
-- offer advice on finding, activating, and holding onto supporters; and
-- discuss the path to the ballot with practical insights about how to get onto the ballot.
This essential resource is filled with concrete steps that librarians, library staff, and boards can take to ensure that political support is there when they need it the most.
Nonprofit Hero: Five Easy Steps to Successful Board Fundraising
Call Number: 658.15 JONE
Publication Date: 2018-11-16
Nonprofit Hero is written by Valerie Jones, who has raised more than $175 million for nonprofits and coached thousands of people to authentically and successfully ask for the causes they care about. She’s addressed more than 50 audiences from Baltimore to Beijing and is one of fewer than 10,000 Certified Fund-Raising Executives (CFREs) worldwide. In addition to running her boutique consulting firm, Valerie M. Jones Associates (VMJA), she’s volunteered extensively, serving nonprofits as president, chair, board member, and committee member.
Her method works. Trained boards report increased comfort and willingness to ask. Many indicate they are prepared to ask for bigger gifts, can identify more prospective donors, and intend to contact these prospects sooner. Her book, Nonprofit Hero, contains stories, tools, and exercises not included in trainings. Readers will learn how to:
-- Honor their fears. Surprisingly, these contain their personal prescription for success.
-- Channel their passion by tapping the energy of why they want what they want.
-- Discover their asking personality, including how they should and shouldn’t ask.
-- Get started with tips on thirty simple things to do right now for free to help raise money.
-- Follow five easy steps, starting with thanking, not asking, and with givers, not prospects.
-- Cast themselves as stars, finding the step they’ll most enjoy and at which they’ll excel.
-- Attract support by listening, understanding motivations, and helping fulfill donors’ desires.
-- Elevate their speech so that they can make their case sincerely and with compelling confidence.
-- Get in the right frame of mind to show up ready for “yes,” not braced for “no.”
This book also helps readers form an in-depth description of their asking personality. It illustrates how they can best thank, steward, research, cultivate, and ask; which of the five steps they favor; how to address their fears; play to their strengths; overcome their weaknesses; and how to get what they need to excel. There are 16 different and distinct profiles, one suited to each reader.
Finally, this book includes a toolkit of practical samples and templates, such as sample giving dos and don’ts, asking scripts, and fundraising plans.
West Virginia Library Commission
1900 Kanawha Blvd East | Culture Center, Bldg. 9 | Charleston, WV 25305
In-State Toll Free : (800) 642-9021 | (304) 558-2041