Skip to main content
Community Technology Projects: Making Them Work
Call Number: 025.00285 HELL
Publication Date: 2019-04-01
As a newly minted librarian, Heller volunteered at a grassroots independent library founded to bring together the work of disparate art communities of Chicago. Since then she has participated in many library technology communities with stints on boards, working groups, conference planning committees, and social media-based outreach. Grounded in her research of dozens of community tech projects, Heller presents a guide exploring how they work, how to get involved, and how to make them better. Library technology managers, grantmakers, scholars, and project managers will all benefit from Heller’s incisive discussion of such topics as
-- a historical overview, including the humble beginnings of OCLC and early library computerized cataloging projects, that offers lessons for today;
-- how to find community needs that match your motivation;
-- using personas to learn about community members;
-- choosing a name and legal structure for a new community;
-- five in-depth case studies, including Project Bamboo, Hathi Trust, and the Digital Public Library of America;
-- techniques for project management, documentation, and discussion;
-- forging a path from small, grant-funded projects to a sustained collective good;
-- reconciling hacker ideology and geek culture with inclusive communities;
-- proven methods for supporting tasks and emotions in library tech communities; and
-- successes and challenges of vendor user groups.
For readers who want to get started with community technology projects, as well as those who are already engaged in collaborations, the techniques and best practices in Heller’s guide will provide the tools and inspiration to make better library technology communities.
Library Technology Planning for Today and Tomorrow: A LITA Guide
Call Number: 025.02 SILV
Publication Date: 2018-10-15
Technology is a crucial part of libraries today. But when it comes to figuring out the most effective technologies for their library or to planning for future technology needs, many librarians don’t know where to begin.
Library Technology Planning for Today and Tomorrow is the place to start. This practical guide will be of special value to those in small- and medium-size libraries, especially those new to the planning process who have not previously implemented technology or who have had difficulty implementing strategic plans. By using this LITA guide overwhelmed librarians can create a sound, realistic technology plan and implementing that plan by identifying each step necessary to accomplish the library’s goals. As they follow this road map from beginning to end, library staff will be able to meet the technology needs of their communities and to achieve their library's technology goals.
This step-by-step guide takes the reader through the process of successfully creating and implementing a library technology plan. Each chapter addresses an aspect of planning and implementation—from conducting a technology audit and selecting appropriate devices to deploying new technologies and training staff and users. Further, this LITA guide will help librarians evaluate the success of their work in developing and implementing their technology plans.
Archival Arrangement and Description: Analog to Digital
Call Number: 025.3414 HAMI
Publication Date: 2017-06-15
Archival Arrangement and Description: Analog to Digital teaches the core functions of arrangement and description.
A historical summary grounds new archivists to assess proposed changes for digital files. After presenting the basics of arrangement and description (processing) for analog materials, the text segues to digital materials incorporating the OAIS preservation model into a detailed, sample workflow. Although accessioning and technical appraisal precede processing, they are discussed because they are performed differently for digital materials and create a different starting point for processing digital files. Description is external to the OAIS model but linked to it. Recent advances in description and its delivery are presented along with concerns for the ability of smaller archives to participate in envisioned future developments that are technology reliant. New specialties like digital curation and data curation show the continued relevance of archival expertise for the digital future.
Rich with extras, the text includes and points to many readily web accessible additional resources.
Building Digital Libraries: A how-to-do-it manual for librarians
Call Number: 027 BANE
Publication Date: 2018-05-31
Whether you’re embarking on the challenge of building a digital collection from scratch, or simply need to understand the conceptual and technical challenges of constructing a digital library, this top-to-bottom resource is the ideal guidebook to keep at your side, especially in this thoroughly updated and reworked edition. Demonstrating how resources are created, distributed, and accessed, and how librarians can keep up with the latest technologies for successfully completing these tasks, its chapters walk you step-by-step through every stage. Demystifying core technologies and workflows, this book comprehensively covers
-- needs assessment and planning for a digital repository;
-- choosing a platform;
-- acquiring, processing, classifying, and describing digital content;
-- storing and managing resources in a digital repository;
-- digital preservation;
-- technologies and standards useful to digital repositories, including XML, the Portland Common Data Model, metadata schema such as Dublin Core, scripting using JSON and REST, linked open data, and automated metadata assignment;
-- sharing data and metadata;
-- understanding information-access issues, including digital rights management; and
-- analyzing repository use, planning for the future, migrating to new platforms, and accommodating new types of data.
This book will thoroughly orient LIS students and others new to the world of digital libraries, and also ensure that current professionals have the knowledge and guidance necessary to construct a digital repository from its inception.
Library Web Development: Beyond Tips and Tricks
Call Number: 025.0422 BENG
Publication Date: 2019-04-01
Plenty of resources offer you snippets of code and a variety of tutorials can show you the solutions to web development problems. But it’s much more valuable (and a better investment of your time!) to learn some core problem-solving skills. This book shares key rules and strategies that will empower you to become a confident coder and web developer, ready to think through whatever complications present themselves. Bengtson, an expert developer, describes 11 challenges typical of a library setting and ones he has faced himself. He then walks you through his thinking, with explorations of alternate approaches, as he works toward a solution. As you follow along, you’ll gain wisdom involving scenarios such as
-- integrating a reader app with Dspace;
-- tips when using a public API;
-- troubleshooting a Google Analytics Event hook in a new application;
-- building a database from a collection of CSV files;
-- collecting information from a university’s web pages to display in the library website; and
-- moving mass quantities of information to the next page of your app.
Armed with the conceptual foundation outlined in this book, you’ll be ready to meet the web development challenges you face in your library.
Preserving Digital Materials: Third Edition
Call Number: 025.84 HARV
Publication Date: 2018-03-02
The third edition of Preserving Digital Materials provides a survey of the digital preservation landscape.
This book is structured around four questions:
1. Why do we preserve digital materials?
2. What digital materials do we preserve?
3. How do we preserve digital materials?
4. How do we manage digital preservation?
This is a concise handbook and reference for a wide range of stakeholders who need to understand how preservation works in the digital world. It notes the increasing importance of the role of new stakeholders and the general public in digital preservation. It can be used as both a textbook for teaching digital preservation and as a guide for the many stakeholders who engage in digital preservation. Its synthesis of current information, research, and perspectives about digital preservation from a wide range of sources across many areas of practice makes it of interest to all who are concerned with digital preservation. It will be of use to preservation administrators and managers, who want a professional reference text, information professionals, who wish to reflect on the issues that digital preservation raises in their professional practice, and students in the field of digital preservation.
Digital Preservation in Libraries: Preparing for a Sustainable Future (an ALCTS Monograph)
Call Number: 025.84 DIGI
Publication Date: 2018-05-01
In today’s information landscape, there are fewer topics that more urgently demand expansive discourse than digital preservation, which touches on everything from technology to copyright. The Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS) steps up to the challenge with this comprehensive overview. Global in scope, it features case studies and contributions that discuss such key issues as
-- the history of digital preservation;
digital preservation and information ethics;
-- strategies for getting started, sustaining digitization programs, and performing evaluation;
-- fine-tuning digital preservation workflows, with a look at Digital Streams Matrix for analyzing pathways and tasks;
-- preserving e-books, mobile device data, and other specific types of materials;
-- collaborative efforts in digital preservation, including jargon-free techniques for engaging non-technical colleagues in digital legacy tools and processes; and
-- the copyright, legal, and administrative issues connected with digital preservation.
Academic librarians, technical services staff, technologists, and administrators will all benefit from this incisive collection.
New Top Technologies Every Librarian Needs to Know
Call Number: 027.00285 NEW
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
The time is right for this all-new survey of the library technology that’s already transitioning from trend to everyday reality. As in the previous best-selling volume, Varnum and his contributors throw the spotlight on the systems, software, and approaches most crucial to the knowledge institutions of tomorrow. Inside, readers will find concise information and analysis on topics such as
-- mobile technologies;
-- privacy-protection technology tools;
-- the Internet of Things (IoT);
-- virtual reality;
-- bots and automation;
-- machine learning applications for libraries;
-- libraries as digital humanities enablers;
-- visualizations in discovery systems;
-- linked open data;
-- embeddedness and Learning Tools Interoperability (LTI);
-- special collections and digital publishing;
-- link rot, web archiving, and the future of the Distributed Web; and
-- digital repositories.
Sure to spark discussions about library innovation, this collection is a must have for staff interested in technology or involved with strategic planning.
Digital Curation Fundamentals
Call Number: 025.84 DERI
Publication Date: 2018-10-15
Websites and digital news stories disappear daily; researchers can’t access their own data for reuse; students don’t know how to make their work last for the next 10 years. Knowledge is built on previously gathered information, but what happens when that information is no longer accessible? And where does the librarian or archivist fit into this picture? This book describes the basic steps of data curation, in clear easy-to-follow language, and clarifies the many potential roles that a librarian or archivist can play to help make our information future viable for generations to come.
Digital Curation Fundamentals is for anyone who wants to help save knowledge for future use, but knows little-to-nothing about digital curation or how it fits with their jobs. This book is also for administrators who need to stay on top of things but don’t yet have a good grasp on the purpose and scope of digital curation and how central it is to the future. Additionally, this book is a reference handbook for those who are involved in digital curation in some form but who need the context to know how their work fits into the big picture, and what comes next. This book takes a straight-forward, commonsense approach to a complex problem, and portrays the challenges and opportunities in an approachable conversational style which lowers the bar to include those with little to no technical expertise.
Digital Curation Projects Made Easy: A Step-by-Step Guide for Libraries, Archives, and Museums
Call Number: 025.84 COWI
Publication Date: 2018-08-10
Digital Curation Projects Made Easy: A Step-By-Step Guide for Libraries, Archives, and Museums outlines simple steps for accomplishing practical digitization and digital preservation projects for those with little experience, time, and/or resources. Following a general introduction, instructions for completing these commonplace digital curation projects are covered:
-- Photograph collections
-- Newspaper collection
-- Rare books
-- Art collections
-- Oral histories
Digital curation does not need to be reserved for big budgets or world-famous collections. In fact, a large part of digitization and digital preservation consists of practical projects that are done every day without much fanfare in libraries and archives around the world.
West Virginia Library Commission
1900 Kanawha Blvd East | Culture Center, Bldg. 9 | Charleston, WV 25305
In-State Toll Free : (800) 642-9021 | (304) 558-2041