Skip to main content
Information Resource Description: Creating and Managing Metadata
Call Number: 025.3 HIDE
Publication Date: 2019
This new edition of Information Resource Description offers a fully updated and expanded overview of the field of information organization, examining the description of information resources as both a product and process of the contemporary digital environment. Through this unifying framework, the book provides an integrated commentary of the various fields and practices of information organization carried out by today’s information professionals and end-users. Key topics and updates to the first edition include
-- discussion of Big Data vs. the traditional database model;
-- an exploration of FRBR-LRM user tasks;
-- expanded coverage of scholarly repositories and questions around Open Access;
-- new section on the history of information organization;
-- expanded discussion of the functions, economics, and management of metadata; and
-- a new section on mobile access.
This book will be useful reading for LIS students taking information organization courses at undergraduate and postgraduate levels, information professionals wishing to specialize in this field, and existing metadata specialists who wish to update their knowledge.
Organizing Archival Records
Call Number: 027 CARM
Publication Date: 2018-10-03
Much of our nation’s documentary heritage resides in small historical societies, libraries, cultural organizations, houses of worship, and museums. The preservation of this heritage often depends on the dedicated efforts of people who, in their workaday world, practice some profession other than archivist. For twenty five years, Organizing Archival Records has equipped non-professional archivists to tackle the challenging task of arranging and describing archival materials.
The latest edition preserves the practical, easy-to-follow, step-by-step approach of earlier editions while updating its content to reflect current archival practices:
-- practical ways to arrange and describe digital records;
-- simple tools you can use to manage and store your descriptions, whatever the level of your computer skills;
-- how to share your descriptions with others;
-- why provenance and original order are foundational to arrangement and description;
-- how the principles codified in SAA’s Describing Archives: A Content Standard can guide your arrangement and description process;
-- an expanded discussion of related topics, including appraisal, security, safe handling of records, storage conditions, and what to do with all the records that were in your archives before you read Organizing Archival Records.
Coding with XML for Efficiencies in Cataloging and Metadata: Practical Application of XSD, XSLT, and XQUERY
Call Number: 006.74 COLE
Publication Date: 2018-02-28
Even experienced catalogers and copy catalogers who know their way around the tags and strings of a MARC record need guidance when creating metadata for sharing bibliographic records or digital collections on the web. Likewise, coders or new librarians coming from iSchool or software backgrounds need examples of how to use XLML or XSLT scripting with library records. That’s where this new handbook from the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) comes in. Librarians working in their code editors will want this resource, with its 58 sample coding examples, at their side. It covers
-- essential background information, with a quick review of XML basics;
-- transforming XML metadata in HTML;
-- schema languages and workflows for XML validation;
-- an introduction to XPath and XSLT;
-- cataloging workflows using XSLT;
-- the basics of XQuery, including use cases and XQuery expressions and functions; and
-- working with strings and sequences, including regular expressions.
This handbook will help teach catalogers of all levels of experience how to code for efficiencies.
Call Number: 025.32 BREN
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
This concise guide to cataloging with RDA: Resource Description and Access specifically hones in on the needs of those seeking a simplified path to creating basic RDA records. First describing foundational RDA concepts and vocabulary, Brenndorfer then distills RDA instructions, matching them to cataloging practice in easy-to-follow language. Current with RDA instructions through the April 2015 update to RDA, this guide makes an excellent primer while also serving as a bridge to more complex cataloging. It’s an ideal resource for:
Small libraries that require standard cataloging but don’t need all the details of structure and content of the full RDA
-- LIS students who need an introduction to cataloging
-- Paraprofessionals seeking a ready reference for copy cataloging
-- Experienced catalogers needing a quick summary of RDA practice
A handy offline access point for solo and part-time catalogers, Brennndorfer’s guide also supports training and classroom use in any size institution.
West Virginia Library Commission
1900 Kanawha Blvd East | Culture Center, Bldg. 9 | Charleston, WV 25305
In-State Toll Free : (800) 642-9021 | (304) 558-2041