Use the following subject searches to locate additional information:
State Library Services Library
Contains 600,000 biographies on 525,000 people. Updated daily. Integrates reference material, periodical articles, and multimedia content.
State Library Services
Provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on topics; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
State Library Services Library
This general reference resource contains entries from general and specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, atlases, etc, as well as pulling information from the Library Commission online catalog and other State Library Services databases.
State Library Services
Covers all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects.
State Library Services
Covers personalities and social, economic, cultural and political events from 1929 to the beginning of WWII.
State Library Services Library
Updates and expands the previous resource to the history, politics, content, procedures, and uses of the decennial census of the American population. This edition highlights changes in the Census Bureau's data collection and dissemination practices for the 2010 enumeration, including the use of a short-form questionnaire for the actual population count, and the release in late 2010 of the American Community Survey (ACS) 5-year data set based on rolling samples of the U.S. population and gathered using the long-form questionnaire. It also comprehensively covers the fallout from the 2000 census and recent issues affecting the administration of the 2010 count.
State Library Services Library
Provides a picture of the lives of immigrants from 50 countries who have contributed substantially to the diversity of the United States, exploring all aspects of the immigrants' lives in the old world as well as the new.
State Library Services Library
Contains brief reference information and in-depth articles across all subjects, including cross references to related topics and reliable web sites.
Statewide
Provides students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles including periodical articles, reference books, wire transcripts and streaming videos.
State Library Services
Provides quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It currently includes the entire U.S. Census history from 1790 to the present in addition to other demographic surveys.
West Virginia Library Commission
1900 Kanawha Blvd East | Culture Center, Bldg. 9 | Charleston, WV 25305
In-State Toll Free : (800) 642-9021 | (304) 558-2041
WV.gov