Skip to main content

Health Information: Health Tools

Use this guide to find information on wellness, medical procedures and general health.

Health News from PBS

Mayo Clinic Podcasts

Loading ...

Pregnancy Information

Text4baby is a FREE services that provides text messages with health information to pregnant women and new moms from pregnancy through a baby's first year.  To sign up for the service by texting "BABY" or "BEBE" to 511411.

Finding a Doctor Online

Health Sites

Here are some tools to help you with your health and wellness.

Federal Government Health Sources

National Library of Medicine

The National Library of Medicine provides health information for both consumers and healthcare professionals through the MedLine and PubMed databases.

MedLine Plus

MedLine Plus is the patient/consumer health related site where users can find drug, disease, and research information. It links to medical dictionaries, clinical trials, physicians directories, hospitals and other resources.

Centers for Disease Control

The Centers for Disease Control site contains links to state health departments, a searchable database of full text articles, and consumer-related sections like Health Topics A - Z and Traveler's Health (cruise ship inspection scores, vaccination recommendations, disease outbreaks worldwide, etc.)

Healthfinder

Developed by the US Department of Health and Human Services, Healthfinder is a free guide to reliable consumer health and human services information. This site can lead you to selected online publications, databases, clearinghouses, web sites, support and self-help groups, as well as government agencies and not-for-profit organizations.

WomensHealth.gov

Developed by the National Women's Health Information Center , Women's Health is a free guide to to health issues for women.

Other Online Sources

Websites You Can Trust 

100 health-related websites that have been evaluated by the Medical Library Assn.

New York Online Access to Health

High quality full-text consumer health information. Available in Spanish.

Merck Manuals

Includes the online version of the Merck Manual of Medical Information - Home Edition


Online Databases


EBSCO

EBSCO databases provide access to full text articles and allow the user to translate articles into Spanish, French or German.

West Virginia Library Commission
1900 Kanawha Blvd East | Culture Center, Bldg. 9 | Charleston, WV 25305
In-State Toll Free : (800) 642-9021 | (304) 558-2041
WV.gov