Skip to main content
Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids
Ben's Guide to U. S. Government for Kids (part of GPO Access) - Providing learning tools for K-12 students, parents, and teachers on how our government works.
e-WV The online West Virginia Encyclopedia
The online West Virginia Encyclopedia is the comprehensive reference resource for the Mountain State. A project of the West Virginia Humanities Council, e-WV offers thousands of articles on West Virginia’s people and places, history, arts, science and culture.
e-WV is a project of the West Virginia Humanities Council.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
The online encyclopedia contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. This database is updated annually.
Designed for students in grades 4-6, this resource offers an age appropriate, easy-to-use, graphic interface that emphasizes searching by topic.
Points of View Reference Center
Provides students an overview of a current, controversial topic with point and counterpoint arguments. Topics have supplementary articles, primary documents, and essays.
Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
Scholastic Go--Formerly Grolier Online
Formerly Grolier Online. Provides access to the Multimedia Encyclopedia, but it also contains the following features: GO tutorial, the Grolier Online Search Box, an interactive atlas, Feature Showcase.,Today Is... , NewsNow, and For Educators. For Educators includes a collection of Lesson plans organized and searchable by grade or subject, each correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
School Image Collection
The School Image Collection, a part of the EBSCO databases, provides quick access to photos, maps & flags, etc.
Remote access to WVInfoDepot databases requires a username and password. Contact your local public library or the West Virginia Library Commission for passwords or additional information.
West Virginia Library Commission
1900 Kanawha Blvd East | Culture Center, Bldg. 9 | Charleston, WV 25305
In-State Toll Free : (800) 642-9021 | (304) 558-2041