Open Educational Resources (OER): Resources

MARC records for the B.C. Open Textbook Collection.

An automatically-generated, cumulative file of MARC bibliographic records for content in the Open Textbook Library. Records are in the public domain and available under a Creative Commons CC0 license.

Grad students

Application-only, 12-month program.

Collaborative OER projects.

A variety of tools to help users determine copyright status and whether or not a usage would be considered fair use. Additionally, the site collects links to best practices from several professional organizations.

An authoritative guide in determining whether or not a work is still under copyright and for how long.

A checklist that helps you weigh the factors supporting and opposing fair use of a work to help you determine whether the use you're proposing counts as fair use or whether you will need to seek permission from the copyright holder.

An explanation of each type of Creative Commons license and what they permit with real world examples of how each is used.

Interactive form to help you choose the best Creative Commons license to share a work the way you want.

An overview of Creative Commons licensing, plus how to apply a Creative Commons license to your own work, what it means to use others’ openly licensed works, and a Q&A with presenter Jennryn Wetzler, Director of Learning and Training, Creative Commons.

Up-to-date resource on copyright and other intellectual property rights organized with sections for Faculty and Instructors, Students, Social Media, and Plagiarism and Infringement. Created with open educational resources and open access materials in mind.

Self-paced Canvas course from Copyright & Creativity for Ethical Digital Citizens. At the end of this course, you should understand copyright and fair use and be able to apply them in project-based learning situations, including knowing how to help students find creative work that is free and legal to re-use and share.

Resources for teaching copyright and fair use including curricula for elementary school, middle school, and high school as well as professional development for teachers.

An introduction to how copyright applies to and affects works you create as well as how you can use the copyright-protected materials of others. Includes information on basic copyright, copyright registration, visual art, photography, musical works and sound recordings, fair use, and the public domain.

Extensive introduction to many aspects of copyright law in the United States, including fair use, Creative Commons, public domain, Section 108, and the TEACH Act.

Covers questions about copyright and open licensing that come up when working with OER. Includes a discussion of foundational knowledge, questions and common challenges, and fair use and attribution for third-party copyrighted works.

The COUP Framework is the Open Education Group’s approach to studying the impact of open educational resources (like open textbooks) and open pedagogy in secondary and post-secondary education. COUP stands for: Cost, Outcomes, Usage, and Perceptions.

A summary of all known empirical research on the impacts of OER adoption.

Tools and strategies to help you make the case for OER, promote awareness, measure impact, and sustain the changes.

Debunking the top myths about OER in North American higher education.

This webinar covers the basics: what OER is, where to find them, what resources are available for customizing OER, and how to incorporate open pedagogy into a class.

Resources to build lessons and activities using OER, primary resources, and free government documents.

Instructional text in gamebook format meant to help faculty deciding how best to incorporate open educational resources into their courses. Covers the choices between adopting existing OER or creating your own and editing existing OER to meet your course's needs.

Reviews language recognizing open educational resources in the University of British Columbia's tenure and promotion guide and how the update came about.

Discusses course improvement beyond the initial switch to OER and potential courses of action when the data shows that a course needs instructional design intervention.

(Course Authors: Rachel Arteaga and Suzanne Wakim) "This course serves as an introduction to Open Educational Resources (OER) providing faculty with new options for selecting textbooks and other resources so they can make the best decisions for their students." Includes a module on licensing, copyright, Creative Commons, fair use, etc.

(By Abby Elder) This introductory text is broken into five sections: Getting Started, Copyright, Finding OER, Teaching with OER, and Creating OER. It is freely available in multiple formats via the Iowa State University Digital Press.

(By Abby Elder and Stacy Katz) This workbook is a remix of The OER Starter Kit with worksheets to help instructors practice the skills they've learned along the way. It is freely available via CUNY's Manifold platform.

A three-part training guide for higher education instructors covering: OER introduction, Copyright and OER, and OER Creation and Adaption.

A two-week, fully online, asynchronous workshop on OER hosted by the City University of New York. The workshop focuses on a process of exploring, evaluating, and selecting resources.

Powered by WVNET, this site seeks to support and gather information on the adoption and creation of OER in West Virginia. Information on the West Virginia Open Education Resources Grant (presented by the Higher Education Policy Commission (HEPC) and the Community and Technical College System) can be found here.